Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
The key to depth of flavor in this recipe is FRESH GINGER! (I always keep a jar of equal parts fresh ginger and garlic that I've run through the food processor together. It lasts for months in the fridge. For this recipe I used two heaping T of the minced ginger/garlic.) I didn't have time to use the slow cooker method so started this on the STOVE TOP and then tucked it into a 325 OVEN for a bit. First I seasoned and browned the chicken, set it aside and sautéed the ginger/garlic with red pepper flakes and thin wedges of onion in the drippings for about a minute. Then I added the sauce ingredients to the pan -- I wanted to use the whole can of coconut milk so doubled the peanut butter, lime juice and soy; used up the cup of homemade blender salsa I had on hand and added 1/4 C Sriracha. After tasting, I decided the sugar was definitely needed, along with a bit of salt. I returned the chicken and juices to the pan, brought it to a boil, covered and put it in the oven until the chicken was very tender. I stirred in thinly sliced red bell pepper, torn fresh spinach and cilantro, then let rest (covered) for 10 minutes before serving over rice. My finished dish looked nothing like the drab photo -- it was beautiful! Even without the bell pepper and greens I added, the sauce was decadently creamy and fortified with yummy vegetables from the salsa. I don't think chunky commercial salsa would work for this unless you briefly run it through a blender first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Howell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I listened to some other reviewers who said that this was even better the next day. I cooked this in the slow cooker overnight to serve for dinner the following day. I just stored the slow cooker crock in the fridge during the day and reheated it that afternoon. This was so easy to prepare! Just mix a few ingredients into the slow cooker, add the chicken and then come back in eight hours. Nice base recipe but I agreed that it needed a little more heat. I added a teaspoon of siracha sauce while reheating the dish. I served with brown rice and stir fried veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I made this for dinner last night and followed a few other suggestions (used 2 tsp Siracha instead of salsa, 1 cup whole coconut milk, 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter and most definitely salt at the end). It was pretty good with some reservations - I would probably use 3 tsp of Siracha next time. My main complaint is that this is not an attractive dish to look at (we eat with our eyes),it is bland looking and somewhat of a mess since the chicken falls apart. The cilantro and peanuts help but next time I will add some peas and carrots to make it look more appetizing. That being said, my husband gobbled it up and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
not tasty at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I followed every step in this recipe except I used 4 TBSP of Sriracha sauce instead of the salsa, and since I used a peanut better that had sugar added, I did not add any more sugar to the recipe. For me this time, it was good, but could've been better. Next time I'm going to increase all of the ingredients except the peanut butter, because the peanut butter seemed to over power everything else. Otherwise it was good, my wife loved it and wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew George

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Photo by JaxNY
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My husband raved! I made some adjustments based on taste: added generous salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes. Added more peanut butter and whole can of coconut milk. Also added a ton of veggies which were great: red bell pepper, onion, broccoli, and frozen peas n carrots. Done in 3.5 hours on high! I used chicken breasts cut into strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
It was a strange texture and lacked depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This wasn't terrible but it was bland and forgettable. k
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is a great kid-friendly and easy meal. Don't expect fancy and amazing thai flavors. Just simple, easy, and good. I only had mild salsa on hand, and I added a bit extra peanut butter. I served it over brown rice that I made with water and coconut milk. I will make it again. I cooked mine on high for about 3 1/2 hours in the slow cooker. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States