Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I have been on here for years and have yet to leave a rate. This recipe really deserved it. 5 stars from a very critical cook. I made a few adjustments based solely on my own personal taste, but this was 5 stars before I ever got near it. My tweaks were substituting 2 tablespoons of siracha for the 3/4 cup salsa, using creamy peanut butter, using a full can of full fat coconut milk, 3 tablespoons of soy, & leaving out the sugar. again these were tweaks to adjust to my own taste. I served a bed of fresh spinach, topped with bean sprouts, topped with Jasmine rice, then the chicken, then the sauce . . . AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I have to agree, I was skeptical. The only thing I did differently is I used mild salsa (because that's what I had) and I used natural peanut butter (because that's all I buy). It was good! I will definately put this in my rotation. It's not strictly Thai if you are a Thai food conniseur, but it is a really great kids-friendly recipe, especially if they are not used to the flavors. My 2 year old loved it. I love Thai food, so it was a wonderful middle ground between something I appreciate as Thai and something she will eat. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was good but the peanut butter flavor seemed to get cooked out of the dish in the slow cooker. So, am going to add a little more. This also needs a little salt added to it after cooked. Other than that, this is a really good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I admit that I was skeptical about the combination of salsa and peanut butter when I first read this recipe, but it was fantastic! My changes were very minor: I used a whole can of regular coconut milk, 1 T. of ginger paste (I didn't have any fresh ginger), brown sugar in place white, about 1 T. dried cilantro mixed with the rest of the sauce and just before serving added peas. We served this over white rice and it was so delicious! My boys (4 and 6) gave it two thumbs up :) Now that's what I like to hear at dinnertime. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Delicious and easy. Made only a few changes, creamy pb and whole coconut milk. A little spicy but even the 4 year old didn't mention it was too hot. Thanks Frank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was wonderful! Due to my love (some might call it an obsession!) for cilantro, I chopped up a third of a bunch and threw that in with all the other ingredients, as well as using it as a garnish, along with crushed peanuts. I also used a whole can of reg coconut milk, upped the pb to 1/2c, and lowered the salsa to 1/2c. Served over jasmine rice, and it still had that great peanut-y taste. Perfect! Hubby couldn't stop raving, 2 and 4 yr olds gobbled it up right away-- will definitely be making this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Very good....I prepared it off of night shift this morning and woke up to it ready to feed my family. Nice and easy. Can kick it up a notch in spices if you desire. Will be added to my slow cooker fav list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was very bland...I followed the instructions to the letter but, I ended up adding a tablespoon of fish sauce, 3/4 cup more salsa and tripled the lime juice. I also shredded the chicken as soon as it was done and added it back to the crockpot. Shredding it and adding it back after doctoring the sauce made a big difference. The chicken absorbed sauce and made the chicken even more flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
if you want real Thai food, this isn't it. BUT it's a wonderfully easy weeknight meal that is full of Thai flavors. It felt weird to be mixing salsa and peanut butter together, but it was great. In the end we topped it with sauted onions and garlic and I think that would have been great cooked in the sauce. Also, I do not usually cook with much salt, but I did find that a light sprinkle on the plate made the flavors pop! The man said 5 stars, which makes us both happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is one of my favorite recipes from this site! I use chicken breasts and put them in frozen in the morning since I go to work at 7am. The chicken falls apart and is shredded in the delicious sauce when I get home and stir it! Like other reviewers, I use a full can of coconut milk. Last night I tried stirring a bunch of baby spinach leaves about 10 minutes before serving over a brown rice/quinoa mix. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States