Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I loved this recipe. I followed the one reviewer and used siracha instead of salsa, creamy peanut butter and no sugar. The 2 TBS was a little too spicy for some members of my family so I might suggest using one and then having people add as they would like. I doubled the sauce for the chicken and we ate it kind of like a Thai curry. I also added slice onions and some sliced zucchini at the end so it was a complete meal with veggies. It was a huge hit with the peanuts and cilantro on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Milligan
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I thought this was a quick, delicious dinner! Super easy. I did as suggested and only used 1/2 of the salsa that it says too, and also used whole coconut milk along with creamy peanut butter. Oh and I added a couple tsps of crushed red pepper for a bit of spice. I doubled the sauce because we love extra sauce and the can was 13 ounces so it worked out perfectly. I used powdered ginger as I did not have fresh ginger. Flavor was still wonderful. I served this over rice noodles. I will be making this a regular slow cooker recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I did not care for this recipe, it just tasted like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Didn't realize how much I loved this recipe until I made it three times - now a go-to for simplicity and flavour. Have changed the ingredients depending on what was in the house (less lime, more lime, more salsa, added tabasco, added garlic, etc.) Whatever you do it will taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Love this easy to prepare recipe - I serve with instant rice and steamed broccoli - and whatever on hand (medium salsa, creamy pb, etc)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
wont try this again. I'm always looking for good chicken recipes, especially easy make ones (doesn't everybody?) Yes, it was easy to throw the ingredients together but chicken was rather bland. True, I used chicken breasts and used 1/2 c hot sauce but I expected more. I don't like spicy (hot) food. I could feel the hot sauce on my lips, but I didn't get an upset stomach whatsoever. I agree with other poster than p/butter flavor was cooked out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is good ad almost ends up tasting like a curry. For some reason, the sauce ended up burning a bit in my crock pot. Next time I'll make more sauce and I won't cook it as long.***update*** My crockpot is just hot, I think. Sauce won't burn if I stir it every now and then. Last time I didn't have 8 hours, so I put it on high for an hour and then on low for 3 more hours. Was great! I also added sliced bell peppers to the pot about half hour before eating. Next time I'll add some yellow potatoes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
We have doubled this recipe twice. The first time, we didn't have ginger, so we used curry. YUM! This time, I used part curry, part ginger, YUM! You could even do some other fun stuff here. But, as is, this recipe is a WINNER! My husband, who is kina picky, asks me to make it all the time! One thing we never have is lime, so the line juice has never been added. It doesn't matter. Serve it by itself or put it over rice or noodles. Kids will love this, too. I think if kids are involved, you might want to hold back on the spices a bit. This is one of our favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This was delicious! I made it exactly as written and the sauce was amazing, the chicken so tender! I made it with basmati rice. Even my very picky children ate every last bite! A new family favourite - I will be making this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Agasucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I liked this recipe, but did make some changes. Since I mixed the sauce before adding boneless/skinless chicken thighs, I was able to adjust to taste. This is what I changed, anything not mentioned I left as in the original: 1 cup hot salsa 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter 1 can light coconut milk 1 lime, juiced 1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger - only because I bought too small of a chunk. I like heat, so I added a LOT of extra Sriracha. Not sure exactly how much it ended up being, as I kept adding it by the tablespoon to taste. Probably at least 6 tablespoons. Cooked on Low for 6.5 hours. Towards the end I saw (as others have noted) that it was quite thin, so I added about 1/2 cup of Bisquik to thicken it up. In addition to the peanuts and cilantro, I added some toasted coconut chips as a garnish. Turned out quite tasty over jasmine rice. The chicken did break down completely, so maybe only about 4 hours on low if you don't like that. It smelled AMAZING while cooking. Next time I'll add even more peanut butter, and might use regular coconut milk. I love crockpot recipes, and this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States