Francisco's Blender Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I love salsa, and this was so quick and easy to make. The can of tomato paste gives a nice wee bit of sweetness to this salsa. I did add in some pickled jalapenos and a couple dashes of garlic powder. Tasted like the salsa they serve at the Mexican restaurants. Great recipe for a quick salsa snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was okay, but didn't really stand out. I made it exactly as written; it made two blenders full. I did take some to a meeting, and a few people said they liked it. Personally, even though I do like cilantro, I found this to be a bit too heavy on the cilantro flavor; I guess I like more tomatoes and onions, and garlic would have been nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Not sure what anyone sees in this.. Turned out terrible for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hairking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is a great starter recipe. I tweeked it with garlic, salt & about 1/2 tbsp oregano, also a little bit of hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
If this was a recipe for ketchup then I would say it was pretty good, but as for salsa, it was bland, like eating a can of stewed tomatoes, pureed. Here's what I added to make it edible, 4 dried chiles de arbol, three cloves garlic, cumin, salt, mexican oregano, paprika, coriander and a pinch of pepper,hit the puree button. It still didn't work on chips, but I hated to throw it away after all the work so I used it in place of enchilada sauce with some leftover shredded turkey, threw some cheese and crushed chips on the top and it was a pretty tasty weeknight casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I have been searching for a salsa recipe that is easy to prepare and is the consistency of those served in my favorite restaurants. This is it!! Mine too thickened overnight but I just added some V-8 juice to it. This one is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
As it is, I would rate this recipe with four stars. But, I think with just a little modification it could easily be five! Like other reviewers, I found this to be too thick. I think in the future I will not drain any of the canned tomatoes and green chiles and this may help. Also, I think I'll not blend half the onion coarsely chopped and two cans of the tomatoes and chiles to leave it a little chunky. But the flavor is VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Delicious! I have been searching for a salsa recipe just like this. Next time I will chop the onion instead of blend it up to make it chunkier. I will definately make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Awesome. It is just what I've been searching for. Has a bit of a kick and you can over blend if your not careful but what flavor and it is SO EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
My son Steve used this recipe for a sixth grade math project, and we made it for his class. It was a huge hit! He snipped off the cilantro leaves to measure 1/4 cup rather than use an entire bunch, and we found it to be just the right amount. No need to mince the cilantro or dice the onion since the blender does all the work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States