Fragrant Millet Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
very tasty and very different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Wonderful recipe! All my guests loved it and several asked for the recipe. Aromatic, vegetarian, healthful - what could be better?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Great recipe for millet, delicious and flavorful. Spice combo is awesome, they go together very harmoniously. I'll only cut a little on coriander. It's one of my favorite spices, but it can give a bitter aftertaste if overused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Great recipe. I threw everything into a casserole pan and baked it, instead of frying it. Came out very lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIELB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I brought this recipe to a cooking class and it just didn't do it for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This turned out wonderfully! What a nice change from rice. I enjoyed the combination of flavors, especially the addition of the orange rind. I didn't add the tomatoes, and didn't miss them...I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I made this exactly as it is written, and it came out very mushy. Quite fragrant, indeed, but not so tasty. And there seems to be much more than 4 servings. Rating this a 3 because I am a beginner cook and I may have not done something obvious that resulted in the mushy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was just alright for me. I could have done without the orange and cinnamon - they completely covered up the wonderful flavor and fragrance of saffron. Saffron is the most expensive spice in the world, so why would you cover it up with stronger, cheap spices like orange and cinnamon? I also cooked the millet a LITTLE too long...I would suggest slightly under-cooking the millet before you combine with the tofu/wine mixture where it will complete it's cooking. Otherwise you end up with a slightly clumpy, slightly soggy mess that I got, but that was my fault. If I were to make this again, I'd omit the cinnamon and orange, and add annatto or achiote for color and light fragrance so as not to cover up the saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This is a good recipe for a change but not as exceptional as I expected based on the combination of ingredients. I agree with a previous reviewer that the orange and cinnamon overpower the saffron. If I make this again, I will not add my expensive saffron since I am not sure that it does anything for this dish. I took previous reviewers advice and only cooked the millet for 20 minutes instead of 30 minutes and the consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Bland and uninteresting. This didn't do anything for me, or my spouse. I found that recipe made enough for 8 people as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trolt

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States