Fragrant Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I made this the other night for dinner, and I was not impressed. Yes, the meat fell off the bone along with the flavor. Based on what I read about this recipe, I used 2 lemons and lemon pepper. I also used a firm sweet-tart apple, a Pinata, because I didn't want applesauce inside the chicken. I found the Rosemary too overpowering a flavor, so I picked it out of my slow cooker. When it was done, I made my own gravy for it since it was too bland. Next time I'll roast the chicken with lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Very moist but not alot of flavor on this one. However - a great starter recipe. Will make a fresh herb bundle next time with cloves of garlic and add to inside of chicken along with apple, celery, onions and lemon. Then will broil the last 1/2 - 1 hr for a better skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
The flavor on this chicken was good - not great but better than just okay. Like some other reviewers, I used just chicken breasts and not a whole chicken. I knew this would reduce the time but I didn't realize how much! I had mine on low the whole time for 4 1/2 hours and it was slightly overdone. If I do it again, I'll drop my time to 3 1/2 to 4 hours. I'll also increase the lemon juice and might skip the apples (couldn't taste them on the chicken and didn't like the taste of them off the chicken).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This did not turn out at all! I used chicken breasts, but besides that I followed the recipe. The recipe doesn't specify what type of apple. I used a granny smith and the recipe turned out really sour. No one liked it. I have had lemon chicken in restaurants an the lemon is an accent flavor, the chicken would be good with out it...I think the overwhelming sourness here ruined the recipe. I ended up rinsing everything off and dumping some Alfredo sauce on and it still seemed too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This meal was very good. I cooked it just like the recipe, however I placed it in the oven to brown for 20 minutes. Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Maybe the problem was I didnt use a whole chicken I used thighs... It was ok. I dont know... it kind of had an Adobo Chicken flavor, which isnt bad but I was expecting different...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is my first attempt at a whole chicken! I used a few suggestions from other people. I did saute the onion w/ a few garlic cloves before putting it over the chicken. Also took the chicken broth instead of water suggestion. Did not have a real lemon so I substituted lemon juice. Keeping my fingers crossed! It smells great and I'm hoping to use leftovers to make lemon chicken orzo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This chicken turned out great. I used fresh rosemary, Italian parsley, a few leaves of basil, a whole garlic (top sliced off, skin on), lemon and olive oil in the cavity of the chicken. Celery, onions, fresh minced garlic, a half a lemon quartered and some cooking sherry in the bottom of the crock. Patted the dried chicken with salt and cracked black pepper. Instead of browning the chicken before cooking, I put the chicken in an appropriate sized pan and broiled in the oven (on lowest rack) at 450 degrees AFTER it was done in the slow cooker. If you choose to do this, check the chicken after 5 minutes so the skin does not burn. The chicken was wonderful -- moist and flavorful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The flavor was good, but it came out way to soft in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiefiend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
As I made this while I was away at work, I was unable to baste. Basting may have helped. I found the flavor of the chicken unremarkable. My bird was still partially frozen this morning, so I had hoped that at 8 hours it would not be overdone, but alas, it was! Aside from that, I skimmed the fat off the juice and thickened with cornstarch slurry, and liked the resultant lemony gravy. Since I'd set the chicken on a layer of chunked baking potatoes (skin and all) gravy was a nice bonus. The potatoes turned out to be the best part of this dish. I suspect that I will not be making this again. If I do, I will use my sister's trick -- a simple timer (like one used for a lamp) to turn the slow cooker on a little later in the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States