Fragrant Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This dinner went over well with my family and dinner guests. I cooked it in the slow cooker on high for four hours. Just before serving I removed from slowcooker and placed the chicken on a baking sheet and broiled. This browned the skin and added a nice crispness to the chicken. The inside remained juicy and full of flavour. I did add a little cinnamon and soysauce to the ingredients. Turned out perfect. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Very good chicken recipe. I used 5 frozen chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken, and let it cook for 4-5 hours. I also substituted ckn broth for the water and added basil as well. Turned out great, was really easy and I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This chicken came out sooooo tender and juicy! I sauteed the onion and garlic in butter before I put it in the crock pot. Instead of the water, I used chicken broth. I rubbed a little lemon pepper on the chicken. The flavors were very good, the lemon was nicely subtle and the rosemary was fragrant. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Disappointing recipe. Flavor very bland and boring. I cooked it the minimum time suggested, and it was very overcooked. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
DELICIOUS! Everyone loved this recipe -- only thing I changed was to rub some lemon pepper seasoning on it! Very nice as a change from your usual roasted chicken. I made gravy with the liquid afterwards and it was the best ever (just thickened it with some flour, no need to add any flavourings). Thanks very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
The meat fell easily off the bones and was very tender, juicy; although pretty bland. Couldn't taste the lemon at all, even though I added lemon zest to it as well. I left out the celery and added baby carrots instead. Carrots turned out wonderful. Had mashed potatoes as a side dish. There is a LOT of broth left over. Will probably make a soup with left overs. Maybe leave out the cup of hot water and add juice of a second lemon instead. (I used a 6qt Rival Crockpot, btw)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I just read some reviews on this after making this one time per week per my family's request. This is so easy, flavorful and moist. It is one of the best recipes that I have ever received. You must try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I fixed this roast chicken in the oven and it was quite good. I don't like slimy chicken from the crockpot and my homerasied birds are way too big to go in one anyway. I basically followed the directions except I mixed the onions, lemon juice, and spices all together in a bowl and added olive oil. I put the juiced lemons inside the bird with the apple and celery. I also added a couple cloves of garlic to the inside and outside of the bird. Every hour or so I flipped the chicken over in the pan. It took about 3 1/2 hours to cook it at 350* and turned out great. I offered the juices to the kids but they didn't like them. I thought they were ok but nothing to rave about-glad I didn't thicken it for gravy. I will use this method again for roast chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is my first attempt at a whole chicken! I used a few suggestions from other people. I did saute the onion w/ a few garlic cloves before putting it over the chicken. Also took the chicken broth instead of water suggestion. Did not have a real lemon so I substituted lemon juice. Keeping my fingers crossed! It smells great and I'm hoping to use leftovers to make lemon chicken orzo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This was a really easy recipie. My family liked it. I put is in the oven at 325 for a couple of hours towards the end of cooking so that it would brown. When it cooks in the crock pot the skin looks raw. But even my eight year old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States