Fragrant Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I thought this was just ok. It was easy to make, and I would definitely substitute chicken broth for water. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
The chicken in this recipe was very moist with lots of juices. However, the taste was very bland! I would suggest adding not only your apple and celery to the cavity but salt, pepper and lemon zest then place the chicken breast side down. I would also add a chicken bouillon cube to the hot cup of water along with juice from the lemon and then sprinkle chicken with salt, pepper, celery salt and other ingreds listed in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Barrett-Casselberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dexter, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
I did not like this recipe, and neither did my husband. Slow cooking the chicken was a great way to cook it, and it was very tender and juicy. However, we didn't like the general flavor. Next time, I'll look for a different spice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
Wonderful! I put half the apple, a bit of celery and 3 thick lemon wedges inside the bird. I then seasoned it with salt and pepper and put 3 sprigs of rosemary and 4 more lemon slices in the broth (used chicken broth instead of water). It was wonderful and, as others said, the broth made an excellent gravy. We had the chicken and gravy over rice and it was perfect. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
While this chicken was very moist and fell right off the bone, it lacked in flavor. The juices make an excellent gravy, so I made lots of it to give it more flavor. Next time I will experiment with more and different seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mousefrei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I always say I'm going to use my crock-pot. Now I have a reason why. This is great. I substituted basil for the rosemary and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
The flavor was very good BUT using the whole chicken although it stayed very tender I found the meat fell off the bone so much that there were tons of little bones to contend with. It was delicious over rice and I will definatley use the recipe again, with boneless chicken though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Had I not made the changes I did, I think this would have been very bland. First, I purchased a lemon-pepper infused chicken. Second, I used the lemon juice but chose not to use the zest (peel) and rubbed all the required spices underneath the skin of the chicken. Third, instead of using water, I used 1c chicken broth and finally, I baked the bird in the oven the last 2 hours so that the skin browned (even though we don't normally eat the skin - it made it look prettier). Overall, this dish was good - but its success is in part to my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Due to the other "bland" reviews we did the following: Run your hand between the skin and meat of the chicken on both sides, loosening the skin from the meat(making like a little pocket). Rub a little salt and pepper on your hands and rub over the meat to season. Place FRESH rosemary stems and lemon slices on the meat and then stretch the skin over and secure with a toothpick or two. I cut tow lemons in half and placed inside the cavity instead of the veggies. The flavor is very lemony with a nice hint of the rosemary. The smell is wonderful! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Although very very tender and juicy, it was not very flavorful. Did not care for the apples and celery, will try using carrots next time as someone earlier suggested. Gave a wonderful aroma while cooking though. Will try again, but with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States