Fragrant Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
got tons of compliments. i didn't have a whole chicken, so i cooked four thighs instead. i used a greek spice rub in addition to the salt and pepper for seasoning the chicken. also added one chopped green pear and some fresh oregano. it was delightful and smelled heavenly. served it on a bed of herbed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
The chicken was not dry at all. It fell right off the bone! The flavor was mediocre, so I ended up using the chicken in a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I took the advise of other reviewers and modified the recipe using chicken broth instead of water, substituted rosemary sprigs inside the cavity instead of dried rubbed outside, seasoned inside and out with salt and pepper, and added two garlic cloves to the pot. I also reduced the cooking time to one hour on high, then turned to low for 5 hours instead of the 6 to 8 hrs the recipe calls for. The chicken was still overcooked and the taste was a little funny. It was as if there was one flavor that just didn't belong. It was edible, but not something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I had to roast this because the big chicken would not fit in the crock pot. It was yummy! And man did it smell good cooking~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzkenworthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I adore the taste of flavorful lemon chicken but this wasn't it. The chicken did come out fall-off-the-bone tender but also quite greasy and very, very bland. I think more lemon juice should be added and maybe some garlic. This chicken tasted like it had been boiled...there was very little lemon flavor and just a hint of rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Fantastic flavor. The house smelled divine while this was cooking away in the crock pot. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I did this recipe in the crockpot and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justadab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made this with Cornish hens. I decided to cook them in the oven as I LOVE crispy chicken skin, and it never turns out well for me when cooked in the crockpot. I used lemon pepper, and would double the lemon juice/zest if I were to make this again. I served it with Roasted Garlic Mashed potatoes and plain fresh green beans - one of the best meals I've made in a long time. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My family enjoyed this recipe but didn't rave about it. I'll need to try it another day to see if they are more enthusiastic. Take the usual care when adding the dried rosemary- don't add more than called for. I defatted the cooking liquid and thickened it with cornstarch for a gravy. Quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
It's not a "wow!" recipe, but a very solid one. My family liked it. I will definitely make it again. I used Chicken stock instead of water and I added chopped carrots and parsnips. The apples did not hold up well at all. They were basically mush. Maybe if I used a different variety? (I had gala on hand). Great crock pot basic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States