Fragrant Citrus Steamed Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
The pork cooked well and the scent was wonderful while cooking. Not enough of the spices wound up in the pork for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
The smell was good, but after cooking it the minimum suggested amount of time, it was slightly tough, and didn't have much of a citrus or spice taste. Also, the water all boiled away, leaving me with a mess of burned spices at the bottom of the pot. I would definitely watch this more closely next time, and find some type of sauce or marinade for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I loved the citrus taste and the smell was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Having read other reviews about the pork being bland or lacking flavor I decided to try marinating the pork in the steaming liquid before cooking. I marinated it for about 3 hours. It did improve the appearance but the flavor was still not intense enough. The pork definitely needs a sauce or salsa to go with it. I did not try the Citus Salsa one other reviewer used but the next time I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
My family enjoyed this one quite well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I agree; the final product came out tasting like steamed pork and not much else. I detected neither orange nor spices in it. It does need a sauce, so I improvised one: 2 parts worcestershire sauce 4 parts light cream 2 parts orange juice 1 part lemon juice I mixed them all together and heated themto the point where the edges just started to bubble, then turned the heat down a little and reduced it to a reasonable sauce thickness. It worked rather well with the pork. Brought my ** rating up to a ***.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
A very good dish for autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This dish smelled so good while it was cooking! The end result is an ok tasting pork chop that doesn't look very good, too pale. You will need something to go with it. I served these with Citrus Salsa(from Splenda) that I found on this site. That made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
Although this recipe was quick and easy, we felt that the pork needed to be served with some kind of sauce. The chops were very tender, but also very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States