Fragrant Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was my first experience making chicken curry and it was an easy recipe to follow and turned out delicious! I used boneless chicken thighs instead of a whole chicken, I substituted hot sauce for cayenne (didn't have any) and once the recipe was at the "simmer stage" I threw the whole thing into my slow cooker and let it cook for about 4 hours. The meat was deliciously tender and everyone really enjoyed it. I would definitley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
So I loved this, but it was SOOO spicy for my tastes, probs per my alterations... I tried to make it vegetarian by omitting the chicken & using water instead, but I ended up scorching my mouth. Also, I used 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 tsp cinammon in place of the other spices b/c i was missing a lot of them. I think altogether I just went a little too spice heavy on the entire thing. I'm definitely planning to make this again, though, and cut the curry back to 1 tbsp. I think adding a sweet potato or two would be DELISH, as well as peas, carrots, and perhaps some zucchini. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I added some chunk pineapple (at the end) and some zucchini and other veggies, and it tasted just like a local restaurant's curry that I crave frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Edit: I added about 1 tsp of salt to the leftovers before refrigerating, and the curry was actually much better the second day! Original review: Another reviewer on here described this as, stragely, both bland and spicy. They were right. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding some zucchini and carrots. I did use hot madris curry powder, which is what I always use. It was quite spicy, but there was something missing. Salt? Thai basil? More garlic? I just don't know. I will likely make this again and see what I can do to find the missing ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was really good! I cut out the cinnamon since I personally don't like the taste, but it still turned out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
What a great "hurry curry!" I omitted the cilantro but added peas/carrots. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Made this for a small dinner party a few nights ago. I added a diced red and yellow bell pepper when cooking the onion to add some color and a little bit of crunch. I also added some fresh chopped mango when adding the chicken. It was a very runny curry, but I served it over rice which soaked up much of the extra liquid. It's a very mild and smooth curry that my family enjoyed, including my 8 year old daughter who dislikes spicy foods of any type. It received rave reviews from the guests we had over. I'm certain we will be making this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cololyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Super wow! We love curry chicken, curry vegetables and curry rice. This recipe delivered way more than I expected. Maybe... it was too expensive to use a whole can of coconut milk. I added thawed out snap peas for the last ten minutes and made my own broth by simmering the chicken bones in water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I made this for my friend who loves Indian food and her Indian American husband. They both love it! Try to shop for the ingredients at an Indian grocery store if there is one near you. The Indian curry powder, coconut milk, and basmati rice are essentials. You can skip the mango chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I found this to be SO good. It's defiantly a keeper !! Just give it a whirl and I'm sure you will agree !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIll Sherstobitoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States