Fragrant and Healthy Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Great cake! I used 100% white whole wheat flour and substituted applesauce for the oil. I also used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 Splenda to make this even more healthy. It was a hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I wanted something healthier for my daughter's first birthday cake, so I chose this recipe. I also made chocolate cupcakes, thinking some of the family might prefer them, but the carrot cake was the big hit. I'd definitely make this again. The orange flavor and the sweetness of the figs were really nice, a departure from the standard carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Incredible! I can't really think 'carrot cake' when I eat this, but it is the most amazing spice and texture experience I've ever had with cake! :) I baked the batter in muffin cups for nearly 30 minutes to make sure they wouldn't be gooey, and they turned out perfectly. Moist and delicious. The molasses is a heavy flavour (I love it, but not all my family can appreciate it) so I think I will try substituting honey or agave nectar next time and see if it results in a lighter, more typical carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
A great recipe! It comes out really moist. I like adding more things like coconut, shredded pineapple, etc. The family loved it (except the 2 year old...what can you do?) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was a very tasty cake! I substituted applesauce for the oil, used all whole wheat flour, and left out the molasses. I also doubled the recipe and used a 9x13 pan. I was worried about overcooking it after reading a review, so kept a close eye on it and took it out after 50 minutes or so. It looked like it might be overdone but ended up a little gooey in the middle. Definitely bake it for the full time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Minimum batter, maximum good stuff! I underbaked it quite a bit since I used a loaf pan, and made some cream cheese frosting (went very easy on the sugar) and it was fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
These were exactly what I was looking for! I altered the recipe a bit...1) I didn't add the carob powder, 2) I used honey instead of molasses, 3) I used about 8+ black mission figs (since they are small), 4) I omitted the poppy seeds, and 5) I used applesauce instead of oil. I also baked them as cupcakes (about 30-35 minutes at 350). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I have to say I was stunned by the outstanding flavor of this cake with so little sugar - the ingredients are wonderful for those who are diabetic or just looking for healthier varieties. I did not use the carob powder. What makes this special are the figs - they really stand out. Excellent taste and no guilt enjoying this cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I was searching for a recipe for the county fair and I ran across this one. It is very good the texture is very nice, with the pecans, figs and raisins. All and all a great recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
A niced alternative to all the recipes with 5x the amount of oil and twice as much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States