Fragrant and Healthy Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Loved it! So fragrant! Was able to use everything it called for, except used coconut oil. Also 100% whole wheat. Added chia seeds and flaxseeds. This is the perfect cake to add all kinds of healthy add-ons! My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
It was lovely and moist! I had wholemeal self raising flour, but white plain flour. I cut out the figs and the raisins, and replaced pecans with walnuts. It only needed half the cooking time. I also only used 1 tsp (misread) of cinnamon, but added 1 tsp of nutmeg, and a half tsp of chinese five spice. I was very impressed with the low sugar content compared to most other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was pretty good. I used all white flour; maybe using whole wheat would make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Tasty! This is the first time I've made carrot cake, and I am definitely a fan. I used more figs (they weren't dried, so it's very moist) and I added extra raisins and replaced pecans with walnuts. I made a frosting with honey and butter melted together, then lemon zest and cream cheese mixed in until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
My husband prefers the full fat versions of carrot cake, but i really liked this cake, I had a hard time staying out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is definately THE best carrot cake I have ever made and eaten. Thanks a big bunch for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
A niced alternative to all the recipes with 5x the amount of oil and twice as much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
These were exactly what I was looking for! I altered the recipe a bit...1) I didn't add the carob powder, 2) I used honey instead of molasses, 3) I used about 8+ black mission figs (since they are small), 4) I omitted the poppy seeds, and 5) I used applesauce instead of oil. I also baked them as cupcakes (about 30-35 minutes at 350). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I don't know if it's fair to rate this recipe when I made so many changes. I doubled the recipe and cooked it in a 9X13 pan. Glad I checked it after only 40 minutes because it was already overcooking. Replaced the raisin with dried cherries (I have family members who won't eat raisins). Replaced the oil with crushed pineapple and replaced half the sugar with Stevia. The poppy seeds gave the cake a crunch. Overall, everyone thought it was pretty good, including myself, but no one raved. I will probably keep the recipe and use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was a very tasty cake! I substituted applesauce for the oil, used all whole wheat flour, and left out the molasses. I also doubled the recipe and used a 9x13 pan. I was worried about overcooking it after reading a review, so kept a close eye on it and took it out after 50 minutes or so. It looked like it might be overdone but ended up a little gooey in the middle. Definitely bake it for the full time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States