Fourth of July Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Best ice cream cake ever! I make it with vanilla, chocolate and strawberry ice cream. Always get great reviews from friends that tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was so good-light tasting, not too sugary and perfect for a summertime dessert. It was easy to fix but we had to do it in stages. this is definitely a keeper recipe for my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I make this for my husband birthday party and it was easy and it was a success with everyone. I make my own cake. I really didn't like the icing and am going to make this cake again for my girlfriend birthday and she ask me to do a cake that is light. I will use sugar free ice cream and will use the cool whip icing. Next time I will let my cake freeze before I ice it. Again the soft churn ice cream spreads easy when you let it soften, but I do think I will use my mixer and try it that way this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandalin84
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Loved it!! This was so delicious & really not as hard to make as I thought it was going to be. I think the key is following the directions carefully of putting each layer back in the freezer each time you add the ice cream...it's a little extra work but helps to prevent the ice cream from melting. I did make a few minor changes: I used 2 9" round pans and cut each one in half to get the four layers of cake. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and put the ice cream in my stand up mixer straight from the freezer and made it creamy (almost like soft serve ice cream), which really made it easy to spread onto the layers of cake, however I would not reccommend this if you do not have a heavy duty mixer. And the last change I made was that I did not use the recipe for the icing but used another recipe from the site "Cool Whipped Topping". This turned out so great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
excellent- I have made this twice. Both times I have been very pleased and received rave reviews! I did not use the angel food cake- but made my own layers- excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This recipe was surprisingly easy! I used a smaller angel food cake and just split it into thirds, it was still plenty!! Whipping the ice cream is also a great idea, made it very easy. I whipped some crushed Heath bar into the crust for an extra touch. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I made this for my birthday and it was FANTASTIC!! One thing if you are going to make this once you have spread the ice cream on the cake slices before you put them together let them sit in the freezer for another 10-15 min. Then put them together. Also if you put chocolate and coffee ice cream on white cake if is so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Excellent. Made the mistake of making the flag cake also listed and it was a flop! The Round layer one. No flavor! This was a HUGE HIT with my kids and hubby too! This is going in our regular dessert rotaiont YUM. Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Great idea! Layered it with homemade strawberry and blueberry ice cream and topped it off with cream cheese whipped cream frosting. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is a great recipe. My SIL asked for an OREO cookie ice cream cake for her 50th birthday. I varied the recipe a little and it was wonderful. A hit all the way around. I noticed one reviewer on here mentioned that her cake crumbled during the cutting of the angelfood cake and I have a suggestion. Before cutting the cake into layers you should freeze it. As a cake artist and baker I can tell you that frozen cakes cut better and keep their form as opposed to warm or freshly baked cakes. Once cut and assembled the taste is just as good as that out of the oven, but you are able to do so much more with the cake as far as carving and creating interesting shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States