Fourteen Layer Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
I made this recipe with much success and garnered raves from friends and family during the holidays. This is a bit of confusion in the amounts and what type of milk to use in the list of ingredients but I made the adjustment by following the written directions and met with no problems at all. A labor intensive creation that's worth every bit of the effort. Nell was very generous to share this wonderful southern secret with us! (By the way, I'm from North Carolina and have had it many times. This one is the best!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
The mixture makes a lot more than fourteen layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I have always been considered a pretty good baker, I'm always the "dessert bringer". This recipe was the worst baking disaster I have ever had. The frosting recipe needs adjusting too, it was more like chocolate soup. NEVER thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
This recipe is not for the faint-hearted. Fourteen layers is a lot to cook. I used 1/2 cup batter in each layer. It also took longer to finish than indicate, but that doesn't mean that it is bad. I may well make this one again when I have someone to impress. Tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizajane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I wanted to impress my husband for his birthday. A chocolate layer cake is his favorite and spending more time or working more than the writer indicated was fine, so I ignored that in other reviews. Do NOT ignore however those upset about the recipe not working. It states a 1/4 cup of batter for each layer, it should be 1/4 inch of batter. The recipe for the batter is the only thing you should take from this disaster. That was fine. I read what everyone had to say and took my time with the ingredients, measured everything out before baking and mixing, and it still turned out terrible. It is true, the frosting NEVER set. After 24 hours of being soupy frosting, the cake was so terrible I had to throw it away and alas my hubby had not birthday cake. 24 HOURS!!!! And it never set!!!! In the end I had a very gummy mess on my cake plate and will never try this again. My advice, don't walk, but run from this recipe. wshooter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I wound up with a HUGE mudslide!!!!! The amount of batter you put in each pan has to be wrong or you would wind up with 50 layers. (I figured this out and put 1/2 cup instead). The icing ingredients have to be wrong, too! (I didn't figure this out until it was too late) 2 cups of milk is much too much liquid! I wasted over 2 hours on this disaster!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
This delicious cake, when prepared correctly, will ruin any other chocolate cake for you. It seems to be primarily a "southern" thing though. (I'm southern, by the way.) And each cook ultimately has to adjust and tweek their recipe a little. I don't know exactly why, but the same recipe always turns out a little differently in each cook's kitchen. (Maybe that's a southern thing too.) At any rate, once you've had it done right, it's bound to become one of your all-time favorites. One tip I've learned is to make two smaller batches of icing/frosting. The icing between the layers is supposed to be a little on the soupy side allowing the thin cake layers to partially absorb it. The icing on the outside of the cake should be a little stiffer, but still not as thick as conventional icing. Neither icing should be "fluffy" in the versions I've savored in the past. It's labor-intensive and time-consuming, but oh-so-good once you've got the right recipe [for you].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Thank you Nell!!! I've searched for this recipe for years to no avail. My grandmother used to make this cake for every holiday and I so wanted to recreat those memories. I've made this cake several times now, using the recipe exactly as written and have gotten so good at it I'm asked to give it in lieu of other gifts at Christmas. This IS a Southern thing and it's labor intensive but worth the effort every time. One hint: Before you begin, cut rounds of parchment or wax paper to line your pans. It helps to transfer the layers to the cake plate. I use 6 pans, baking 3 layers at the time while I'm icing the other 3. BTW, the measurements are precisely correct!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I am also a Georgia girl and the correct amount of milk in this recipe should be ONE CUP, not three! I tried this to see if it was better than the original recipe and it is not. Using three cups of milk destroys the batter, makes the layers rather flimsy and the cakes will not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I definatly Love this recipe Nell Thank You. For the Persons having trouble with this cake... First off, her measurements in this recipe is to the Science no adjustments with the amounts. First the batter- you should put 3/4 cup of batter per 8 inch pan; I assume she made a type-O. Next the frosting; before you begin you should understand the meaning of a ROLLING BOIL. A rolling boil is when all liquid is bubbling and breaking at the surface and liquid is rising. When you have reached a rolling boil then time 2 full minutes for it to continue to boil then take off heat and blend for 1 minute.(If you don't do this frosting precisly as stated you will have a runny mess that want set). Immediatly pour a layer of frosting in-between each layer of warm cake (I work with 3 layers at a time; I cook 3 then frost them while I'm cooking more). Of course this is a time consuming creation but let me tell you the outcome is raving. One more pointer: after you have finished the layering of all 12-14 layers let the remaing frosting sit to thicken a little (but still pourable) before you frost the top and sides. After the frosting has set on the cake Nearly like store bought icing then smooth the sides with the frosting that has oozed onto the plate. I suggest using a plate that is at least an inch in depth (A tupperware cake-taker is great using the deep-well side). I am also a Southern Cook/baker from North Carolina and believe me this is a Wonderful Cake To Create.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States