Fourteen Layer Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
My husband is from North Carolina, so I made him this cake for his birthday. I got the highest complement from him that I have ever heard, he said it tasted just like his mom's! Thanks Nell and Carolina Girl your recipe and tips were just what this Yankee girl needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This cake, supposed to be our Christmas dessert, looks like a stack of pancakes with chocolate syrup over it! I MAY try it one more time, using Carolina Girl's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This cake was really good, the frosting was runny, but I didn't know if it was supposed to be or not, but It still tasted so good! Everyone loved it, It was a pain baking every layer, but worth it. I did'nt have vanilla extract, so I used orange. It tasted really good with the chocolate 'glaze' frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clarkton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
You have to UNDERSTAND this cake to appreciate it. This is an old Southern holiday/special occasion recipe. It is obviously labor intensive and made with a big dose of LOVE! These days most folks just buy them from a home baker...these cakes run $40-$50! Follow these directions to the letter and you will have a taste of Christmas in the rural south!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
My 89 year old grandmother has been making a cake similar to this for many years. Her batter recipe differs slightly - only use 1 cup of milk and 3 1/2 cups of self rising flour. To make the batter: cream the oil, margarine, vanilla & sugar together; add the 6 eggs; add 3 1/2 cups flour then add one cup of milk only mixing for a minute after the addition of the milk. To make the filling (chocolate icing), use 3 cups of sugar, 6 heaping tablespoons (use a serving spoon) of cocoa powder and add enough water to make a paste (just eyeball it). Then add 1 can evaporated milk and 2 sticks of margarine. Bring mixture to a boil, cooking until just thick and stirring occasionally. Turn off heat and let sit on burner. You put this filling between each layer and to the remaining filling you add powdered sugar to make it thick (eyeball it). This becomes the icing for the cake - allow sit out uncovered so the icing will harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
For all of you out there having trouble with the icing, here is another alternative. This is the icing recipe I use for my 14 layer cake which does come out a little thicker (not that there is anything wrong with the one already listed!)But you do need to make the icing first. 1 stick margarine, 3 1/2 blocks unsweetened Bakers Chocolate, 2 cups evaporated milk, 1 tsp vanilla, 3 cups sugar & a dash of salt. Melt sugar & chocolate in saucepan then add other ingredients. Cook until thick stirring constantly. Ice each layer as it comes out of the oven. Hope this helps! From another Carolina Girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
The cake part sound delicious, but I wanted to say...I have a recipe something like this from my grandmother. Tips: pans...we always used an iron griddle about 10 round. If it is seasoned well it will never stick. Frosting...this one sounds hard. We only used cocoa powder and water to make a syrup. Use 3 cups of sugar and one cup of water and boil to rolling boil. Boil to a soft stage on a candy thermometer or until the syrup forms a soft ball when dropped in hot water....add cocoa stir very little as you do not want to form sugar crystals. It will be a slow process. Set on the stove as you cook the layers to keep warm. As you layer the cake...poke hole throughout and spoon a few table spoons over each layer. Fabulous! No milk needed for frosting to it doesn't have to be refridgerated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
If you follow the directions by CarolinaGirl34 this recipe is perfect. I have never made this and my boyfriend's parents were going to order it from somewhere for Thanksgiving. Instead of them ordering it, I volunteered to make it and made my 'Practice Cake' for my office Thanksgiving party. It was a huge hit with a big 'wow' factor. If you adjust the measurements as indicated, and make sure to bring the icing to a rolling boil, it will be fine. It's delicious. And when you cut into the cake it's beautiful. I sprinkled chopped pistachio's on top. I would recommend something like that to make it prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Made this for my family. Tasted just like pancakes w/chocolate sauce. Was able to make chocolate sauce thicker by decreasing liquid. But overall its a time consuming process that was not taste worthy. Would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I read this recipe and thought...hhmm..I could make this, so I tried, yesterday! The batter was easy to prepare and w only minor pan stickage I was off on my way, one layer baked after another. So, I thought, I could make the frosting (even though others thought it was a "soupy mess") well, let me tell you, IT WAS!! I tried everything under the sun to thicken it (corn starch, whipping cream, pudding mixes) but nothing worked. (Now, I do have to say, had I mixed the chocolate syrup mess with steamed milk, I think that would have been the best cup of hot chocolate ever!!!) Yet, I pushed on. I put together the cake (stopping at 8 layers) bc of time constraints and served it w vanilla bean icecream and caramel syrup and the entire cake was devoured. One of the cake eaters sd it looks like chocolate covered pancakes!! Tasty, not so messy, you never know, it could be requested in the future to be made again by one of the party goers!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bessiedarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States