Fourteen Layer Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I don't see how anyone who followed this recipe exactly got a cake worth eating. The layers did not rise, even after I increased them to 1/2 cup. The icing was thinner than chocolate syrup. It was a big gooey mess that hit the trash. Don't waste you time and money on this one. Mine looked NOTHING like the picture that was with the recipe. That was what I was shooting for, but it is not what I got!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Recipe is great, you do have to follow icing instructions to the letter for it to turn out correctly. For those of you having difficulty with the 'slide factor' of the layers, after about your 5th layer (when the slide begins), wrap aluminum foil around the base of the cake (letting it stand up around the edge tall enough to finish your layers), and tuck and roll the loose edges of the foil enough so that it's secure (like rolling the hem of a pair of pants, you just have to do 3-4 rolls), but not too tight or too fitted so that you can't work with it. You do have to be a bit more careful with the layering process, but it will support the cake sides so the icing can set well. Then just remove the foil before icing the outside and top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 114ACB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edenton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
to give it a little change i made some of the layers chocolate and added a little coconut in the layers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I had baked cakes for 30+ years but had never heard of the 14 layer cake before I moved to Georgia. It's all the rage down here! This cake recipe is great but as with many other reviewers, I don't recommend using this icing recipe as there is way too much liquid in it for it to ever set. I am submitting a recipe to help you all achieve success. Look for it titled: Chocolate Buttermilk Frosting. It's easy, smooth, versatile, and is fluid enough to spread but will not be runny. By the way, cook time is longer than 30 minutes when you have to bake 14 layers, 3 at a time for 12 minutes each. You also have to wash pans and re-grease them in between baking each batch which adds to your cook time. Give yourself a good 3 hours at least and I loved the idea of using parchment paper in the bottom of the pans, even after greasing and flouring them. No sticking problems with that, but a few extra minutes cutting paper to fit the pans. It's worth the time. I get rave reviews when I bake this cake for my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I have made this cake about 6 times. It is always well received by the eaters but totally stressful to make. I use the alternate icing receipe offered by Carolina Girl. My problem is after about 7 layers the layers start to slide and I have a difficult time getting all 14 layers on top of each other. I have tried bamboo stakes but due to the thin layers they will still slide on me. I have to hold them with both hands frequently to keep them together. I have to use icing to cover up my flaws this makes. Once finished it is a delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
i made this cake and it was AMAZING i used a different chocolate frosting and then i poured some white glaze on the top. i put 1 cup of batter in each layer and only made seven cake layers but i put frosting inbetween each layer and then covered the cake in frosting and put the white glaze on. and i served it for my mom and dads 20th anniversary. definatly suggust using this cake but DON'T try the frosting. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeralaina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Well, I, like others on the board, had an awful time with the icing. A friend had given me a piece of a 24 layer cake that was OUT OF THIS WORLD. So, I assumed, I could give this one a winning try. I tried to follow all of the other member's advice with the icing. And, as other's.....it did not turn out. The cake part was a success, but that icing wouldn't set. I even tried adding a whole bunch of confectioner's sugar....that didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I made this for my mom's birthday. I followed the recipe as written. The only change I made was to use a cup of batter per layer, so of course it didn't come out as a 14 layer cake but a 9. However, no one knew the difference and gobbled it up and enjoyed every decadent bite! Thanks for the recipe, my Mom loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessay3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
My husband is from North Carolina, so I made him this cake for his birthday. I got the highest complement from him that I have ever heard, he said it tasted just like his mom's! Thanks Nell and Carolina Girl your recipe and tips were just what this Yankee girl needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This cake, supposed to be our Christmas dessert, looks like a stack of pancakes with chocolate syrup over it! I MAY try it one more time, using Carolina Girl's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States