Fourteen K Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Taste is a subjective thing but I'm going to add my two cents on this cake regardless. IMHO this cake has absolutely NO carrot flavor. It's a beautiful and moist cake but if that's is all I wanted there are other cakes I could have made. If you really want a carrot cake wait until you have the time and the energy to grate those carrots. Otherwise wait.....this shortcut isn't worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KG1179
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This recipe is unbelievable. I had been looking for a good carrot cake recipe- but instead found one that is superb! My very picky husband and I ate 3/4 of the cake ourselves in 2 days! The other 1/4 went to some former co-workers that have been begging me for the recipe ever since. The title says it all- this carrot cake recipe is golden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
I tried 7 differant carrot cake recipes to find the perfect one for a wedding. Everyone agreed, this was GREAT! The baby food is much easier than grating all those carrots(and better flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Ok, I read the reveiws before making this and found I agree with ONLY ONE! I'd like to know how other people got a wonderful carrot cake out of this, good cake yes, but it didn't taste like carrots at all! I'll be grating my carrots from now on, the shortcut this one takes makes you lose too much flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTHERHEN1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This was the tastiest, moistest yummy carrot cake ever!!! I had all the ingredients on hand except the coconut so I substituted grated carrots for the coconut. I will use this recipe from now on. I was unsure of what kind of icing to use so I prepared my ole trusty icing recipe. A block of cream cheese, half a stick of butter and a lb of powdered sugar. I baked the cake in a 9X13 pan and topped with the icing while the cake was still hot. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I have been making this cake for years, and everyone seems to love it. If you don't want to use the babyfood (yes, it can be expensive). Use two 14.5 oz cans of cooked carrots, drain and mash them. You get a little more texture and a little more carrot flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I have made this cake for years and lost the recipe, thank goodness someone had it! I also heated up some butter with karo and poured it on top after poking some holes in it. It was so moist, no need for icing. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti
Home Town: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is the best cake ever. I made it last week for a family gathering. Used sweet potatoe baby food instead with the pineapple. People were literally eating the crumbs off the plate. Next time going to try squash baby food. A diffent keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
A great carrot cake. Very easy to make. Very moist and tasty, too! I made a 9" layer cake instead of a 9x13. Used the 'Cream Cheese Frosting II" recipe here and then pressed crushed walnuts on the side of the cake. It was beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
We really liked this cake. Stayed moist and good for several days. Will be making again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Davis Kitchens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Richton, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States