Fourteen K Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This cake was absolutely fantastic. I made it at Easter, with some cream cheese frosting, and it was a family hit. The only thing about the recipe that I had issues with was that baby food (at least locally) comes in 2.5 oz and 4 oz sizes, not 4.5 oz. Two 4oz jars worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Excellent cake -- moist and flavorful. Have used this recipe as well as the more tradtional recipe (fresh grated carrots) for years. Some may say that the pureed carrot version has less flavor. Wrong! I really don't think freshly grated carrots add that much flavor especially by the time they are baked in a batter with spices and other ingredients -- which is what really makes a carrot cake. However, if you like to see the specks of carrot in your cake, go for it. But if you want a fantasticly moist and delicious carrot cake, go for this version. Trust me, no one will spit it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Have been making this cake for over 35 years. It's the one cake each of my family members ask for as their Birthday Cake. Before this, my mom use to make it for my birthday. Great flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Try this with cupcakes and cream cheese frosting. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I have been making this cake for years, and everyone seems to love it. If you don't want to use the babyfood (yes, it can be expensive). Use two 14.5 oz cans of cooked carrots, drain and mash them. You get a little more texture and a little more carrot flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I have been making this for the last few years for my DH's b-day and it's the best carrot cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I love this cake. I did change the amount of oil I put in it. Instead of 1 1/2 cups I put 3/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup applesauce. It was still super moist and cut out a lot of fat!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Made this for my husbands 60th Birthday last week...really moist and not overpowered with spicyness...just DELISH!!! Adding the baby carrots instead of chopping up fresh carrots saved a ton of time in the prep...would make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry O'Connor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I've made this quite a few times and I absolutely love the recipe. Everyone I've ever served it to has loved it as well. One little issue is that I have never been able to find 4.5 oz. jars of baby food. Last time I bought two 3.5 oz. jars and one 2 oz. jar to equal the total 9 ounces, but that isn't a very economical way to go. Also, the bake time has always been way off for me. I usually end up baking it at least 55 minutes if not a full hour. Otherwise, it's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is the best cake ever. I made it last week for a family gathering. Used sweet potatoe baby food instead with the pineapple. People were literally eating the crumbs off the plate. Next time going to try squash baby food. A diffent keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States