Four Fruit Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Such a good pie, easy enough for a person like me who can count on 10 fingers how many times I've made pie! I used about half the sugar the recipe called for, and it resulted in a healthy-tasting, delicious pie. Also indulged in a gluten-free crust and I'm so glad I did. The pie and crust worked SO well together. Really appreciated the crumble topping, made this pie extra-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Porter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Very nice recipe and quite easy. I didn't have raspberries, so I had to substitute dried cranberries. It worked well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I had apples, peaches and pears and couldn't decide what kind of pie to make until I found this recipe. I didn't have raspberries but didn't really miss them. Different from the usual 1 fruit pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
We did not care for this pie. Way too watery from fresh fruit cooking. bottom crust soggy. Peaches picked up colors from raspberries and looked unappealing. The crust on top was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitehall, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This pie tastes great, however, I needed to cook it for an extra 20 minutes for the fruit to cook through and it came out a bit too runny. I substituted 1/2 a cup of oats for the flour which mae the top taste great. I would make this again but change come of the measurements so that it is not as runny and bake it for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by giblet
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
My first pie! Substituted an extra pear and blackberries for the peaches because of the season. Really yummy and very easy. Could see using the crumbly-goodness topping on other pies and desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giblet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I baked this as one of 3 pies for my mom's b-day and this was one of the crowd favorites. I didn't care for the raspberries (which I'd actually thought would be my favorite part!), but still enjoyed the pie. Pies are hard for me to rate because I prefer cake, but since everyone else seemed to enjoy this, a 5 it is (I, personally, would have rated it a "4"). I followed the recipe as is, though I did have to use frozen (thawed) peaches due to seasonality. I wasn't sure what variety of apples to use, so I used a mac, a granny smith, and a gala. I also added a handful of oats to the topping and subbed almond for pecans per personal preference. TY for a nice pie twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I doubled the recipe for a work birthday and had WAY too much fruit left over even after mounding as high as possible in deep dish 9" pie crusts... Could the original recipe have been for 2 pies? Otherwise great recipe. I took advice from some other reviewers and prebaked the crust, cut down on the white sugar, and substituted whole oats for the nuts in the crumb topping. With prebaked crust (10min @400F) the cook time could shorten to 30min. With leftover fruit, I mixed in leftover crumb topping and baked in corning dish 20min - bet it'll be great with ice cream tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Good recipe. The crumb topping was delicious, the filling was ok, but I definitely suggest that you prebake the pie crust for 10 minutes or so. I used canned peaches instead of fresh, and canned sour cherries instead of the raspberries. I also halved the sugar in the fruit mix, because I wanted a not too sweet, more fruity taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I don't usually enjoy fruit pies but this was great! I followed the recipe almost exactly except for the fruit amounts- I used the amounts of each that I had lying around until it filled the pie crust. My raspberries were frozen in a mix with blackberries and I didnt defrost them- just threw them in and it still worked great. I loved the pecan crumble topping (I used pecans that were glazed and I think that added a nice flavor) and got great reviews from friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States