Four Egg Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
It came out moist but had a strange taste. Next time I'm trying butter instead of shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Such an easy cake, and DELICIOUS! It's a heavy, dense cake, but still so moist and creamy. It is so flavorful, it goes fine with just a vanilla frosting. It made a fat, gorgeous, bundt cake, and I was thrilled with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This would be my fourth time making this about. It just needs something to keep it moist so I put a tablespoon of olive oil hoping that will do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Charlton Cornelius

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I have stopped using cake mixes and this recipe is the best around for yellow cake. I make mocha frosting for this one. I, too, use 2 sticks of butter. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Rizzitano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cherryfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I followed the recipe, and it could be my lack of baking skills, but the cake had a very large crumb and unappealing texture for me. The taste was good, texture was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
It came out great! Best yellow cake I ever made. I used butter instead of the shortening and it was fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I made cupcakes and they came out good but a little thicker than I wanted. I think I will have to cream the butter/shortening/sugar mix a little longer. It was my first time with this recipe but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dacoles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
The bake time wasn't correct and the end result ended up tasting like cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
We just tried this recipe as we start a new tradition on mother's day...baking as a family! My kids LOVED the cupcakes! They came out fantastic...extremely moist, delicate and hmm hmm good. We did, however, use 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of shortening. I think, for those whose cupcakes didn't come out the best, try sifting the dry ingredients together. But also, as my husband the chef says, it's IMPORTANT to have your "Misenpas" which is everything you need for the recipe in place before you get going. We had a blast baking today and I enjoyed even more seeing our kids enjoy their "creation"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JVilleCakeLady
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Tried this recipe today and "Loved It" Made a few changes"I have to make everything my own" Used 1 stick Butter and 1/2 Cup of Butter Flavored Shortening..I used 3 capfuls of Vanilla Extract...Creamed Butter and Sugar very well as others suggested and my cake came out Beautiful! I will never buy box cake mix again! My Husband Love It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States