Four Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This is an absolutely fantastic recipe. However, you HAVE to use quality ingredients. That means using *Heavy whipping cream* (36%+ butterfat), as opposed to light/medium whipping cream or half/half (10%-25% butterfat). The higher butter fat content found in heavy whipping cream is necessary to produce a thick, creamy sauce, so don’t even bother with milk. Also, use real butter, not hydrogenated “butters,” such as Country Crock, or I Can’t Believe Its Not Butter. Preferably, use a cultured butter (also known as European-style butter), instead of common sweet cream butter. Cultured butter also has a higher butter fat content, and makes for creamer sauce. You can buy this type of butter at most high end grocers. Look for Keller’s Creamy’s Plugrá butter at Trader Joe’s and Whole Food Market. Lastly is the issue of cheese. Good cheese = good sauce. Instead of using only four cheeses, I found that using six cheeses adds great depth to this recipe. The easiest way to do this is to buy a bag of already mixed cheese. I suggest Sargento’s 6 Cheese Italian mix, which includes mozzarella, smoked provolone, asiago, parmesan, romano, and fonita cheeses. This blend makes an incredible sauce, especially over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This was an excellent sauce! The 4 cheeses really compliment each other nicely. I added some oregano, tarrogan, parsley, garlic salt, and black pepper for some extra flavor. It is definitely worth the try to make, and it was easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I made this dish for a few friends and they all loved it! I used angel hair pasta with chicken and brocolli added in, it was a definite winner, although one friend thought it was too cheesy, everyone else loved it! Also, it was easy to make coming from a beginner cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
Wonderful recipe! Very smooth and tasty, made enough for 4 servings, so I froze half. Best cheese sauce my husband and I have ever had :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
very easy, very good. i made it with what was on hand. guessed at quantities. half & half, butter, grated cheese, spices. a little whole weat flower at the end. came out soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
A truly gourmet white cheese sauce. A bit on the rich side, however, so make sure you cook a *lot* of pasta to put under it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
This recipe is simple perfection. I have made it exactly as is, and have also made it by omitting the mozzarella cheese, and adding a pinch of pepper and a tsp of dried basil; it's wonderful both ways. Good recipes (like this) are easily tailored to individual tastes. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Incredibly easy and delicious. Like Olive Garden's sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Holy Cheesy Pasta Batman! Alchemy-yes, just like magic. My boyfriend had been begging me to make a sauce like the 3-cheese at our favorite restaurant. I made this last night and WOW!-FANTASTIC! Very easy and was as good if not better than DiBella's! Not exactly "good-for-you" but will definately make again for special occassions. Dominic, you're a great wizard! Thanks for the great sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
I LOVE THIS IT"S SOOOOOOO GOOD!! IT'S DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States