Four Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The flavor of this sauce is nice. It's mild, but flavorful. However, it was extremely thin. I used half and half, but reading other reviews, maybe it would be better with heavy cream. I used good cheese and it melted fairly well. Good enough to try again, but with cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This recipe is wonderful! I just wish there was a way to reheat this and keep its creamy consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I absolutely love this sauce, it´s simple to make, super tasty, and great consistency. I made it with gnocci piamontese, juste delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielita

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This is an absolutely fantastic recipe. However, you HAVE to use quality ingredients. That means using *Heavy whipping cream* (36%+ butterfat), as opposed to light/medium whipping cream or half/half (10%-25% butterfat). The higher butter fat content found in heavy whipping cream is necessary to produce a thick, creamy sauce, so don’t even bother with milk. Also, use real butter, not hydrogenated “butters,” such as Country Crock, or I Can’t Believe Its Not Butter. Preferably, use a cultured butter (also known as European-style butter), instead of common sweet cream butter. Cultured butter also has a higher butter fat content, and makes for creamer sauce. You can buy this type of butter at most high end grocers. Look for Keller’s Creamy’s Plugrá butter at Trader Joe’s and Whole Food Market. Lastly is the issue of cheese. Good cheese = good sauce. Instead of using only four cheeses, I found that using six cheeses adds great depth to this recipe. The easiest way to do this is to buy a bag of already mixed cheese. I suggest Sargento’s 6 Cheese Italian mix, which includes mozzarella, smoked provolone, asiago, parmesan, romano, and fonita cheeses. This blend makes an incredible sauce, especially over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I am not sure what I did, but this was not even edible. I may try it again...as it could very well have been me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This was a little bland for my taste but a good base to build with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Great recipe. I made a roux before adding my cream and cheese. (Melted the butter, and added a couple tblps flour.) I also used whole milk instead of the cream. This was great on veggies, and there was enough leftover to pour over veggies the next night. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I've made this about 50 times now, be careful, it's seriously addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
What can I say...simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States