Four Cheese Margherita Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is great. I made it using 3 of the 4 cheeses as I didn't have any Fontina cheese. I use fresh sliced tomatoes on pizza often, but I never thought to marinate them before. I used a mini-strainer to drain away the excess oil/tomato juice and used all the little bits of garlic. The cheese combination is a nice blend, and it looks different than a mozzarella-only pizza. I'll be sure to try it with Fontina too in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I made several changes to the recipe only because I didn't have all the ingredients, or access to them because I live overseas. I used plain salt, not sea salt, regular tomatoes, dried basil, and mozzarella, white cheddar and parmesan cheese. I loved the idea to marinate the tomatoes, I think that really helped the flavor! I probably actually marinated them for an hour. I followed the instructions pretty closely, using the mozzarella first, then the tomatoes, then cheddar, basil and parmesan on top. I forgot to pre-bake the pizza crust, so it got a little soggy in the middle but it was ok. Another review mentioned making sure the juice was all drained out of the tomato slices, which helped it not be too soggy. I'm sure the pizza would be absolutely delicious just as the recipe was written, I just couldn't get all those cheeses. The variation I made was wonderful and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I LOOOVED this and would give it 5 stars, but my husband didn't like it much at all. I used homemade dough, skipped the fontina because it was too expensive, and it was still wonderful. I also used dried basil rather than fresh - again, because fresh was too expensive. I don't feel like these minor changes hurt the recipe at all. The tomato marinade brought out such a great flavor. I'd make this again and again if I had someone to help me eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was delicious. It never even made it to the table! My husband cut a little piece off to try and we stood in the kitchen and ate the entire pizza. Best pizza ever! Thanks for the recipe. We will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dkperez
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Delicious recipe! We loved this recipe, it was simple, quick and easy. We plan to use this a lot in the future. Important elements to have: *Well marinated tomatoes *Fresh Basil *Variety of cheeses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkperez

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
AMAZING! I made this for my boyfriend and he wouldn't stop raving about it. He said it was like "restaurant quality". It is SO EASY to make and there is so much flavor! I served mine with a homemade Greek salad (chunks of cucumber, tomato, and red onion) and a glass of pinot grigio! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe. I added black pepper to the tomato marinade and let them marinade in the fridge for a couple hours. I used home-made crust--prebake for a few minutes, brush with marinade, and then top with tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Very good & fairly easy too...since I bought my pizza dough from Trader Joes--along with the fontina & mozzarella cheeses. I marinated the tomatoes a few hours longer. The first pizza was good, but, the second one I took the extra chopped garlic out of the marinate with a slotted spoon and sprinkled over top of pizza---thought the 2nd pizza was even yummier. My pizza'a took about 18-20 min. to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was REALLY good. I made it on Jay's Signature Pizza Crust from this site. The Fontina cheese was a little hard to find, (I found it with the gourmet cheeses in a wedge, not grated) but the combination of four cheeses with the tomatoes and fresh basil was really good. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States