Four Cheese Macaroni Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I do it twice in one week. that gives me liberty to rate it twice, you think? Even more so, because my two-year old and I ate the rest of the leftovers and my husband pouted!! So, I had to make another batch of this yummy dish. I measured my spices this go-round. and used between 1/2 and 3/4 of a teaspoon of the basil and oregano, the full teaspoon of the Italian seasoning and it couldn't have been better. More fetta, less parm. And used two small fresh tomatoes again and layered them in between the macaroni and the layer of cheese on top. I found the first go round that if I mixed the tomatoes in, the macaroni wasn't as gooey/cheesy; it tended to seperate. so, the layering worked PERFECT. Try it! You Won't Be Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I made this and with a few changes it was awesome. I omitted tomatoes and added 1 tin of tomato paste. I just used basil, salt, pepper and nutmeg for seasonings. I added 1.5 cups mozerella 1.5 of cheddar and 1/2 of parmesian. Kids gobbled it up. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I know this may sound weird, but I've never been a fan of rich/super creamy macaroni and cheese. This recipe is exactly what I had been looking for! I made it for my boyfriend and we both thought it was great. I can understand how some people may find it a bit dry, but that's a big part of why I enjoyed it so much. I'll definitely be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
this recipe turned out pretty well, some reviews said it turned out dry so i mixed several ounces of sour cream in with the pasta and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This was great except it DEFINITELY needs some cream added to make it creamier, it was a bit dry. Makes awesome left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Excellent dish! I made the following changes: used only one 14.5 oz can of tomatoes, and didn't use italian seasoning (just oregano and basil). I also didn't put the tomatoes in a separate bowl first as the recipe called for...I just added them into the casserole dish and mixed in after the first batch of cheeses. A great twist on regular mac-n-cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Absolutely amazing, a true keeper! THe first time I made this my husband had 4 servings, no kidding! I do add more cheese & seasonings based on our personal preference & layered the pasta & the tomato mixture as other reviews did. It makes great leftovers too! My husband & I can't get enough of this dish! Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Pollak06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Not too bad....I would add more shredded cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Pretty tasty recipe. My pre-teens gobbled this down. A bit reminiscent of Macaroni Grill with the addition of tomatoes and Italian spices. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I thought the recipe was pretty good, although I made a few changes. I added 1 cup of cream (half and half) into the macaroni and melted cheese (it made it creamier than I believe it would have been otherwise) I also added 1 tbsp of butter in with the pasta. I took another reviewers advice, and put the tomato mixture as a layer in between 2 layers of the pasta (I only had 1/2 a can of tomatoes on hand, so I cut up 2 fresh tomatoes to compensate and it turned out well). I used a little less than 1 tsp of each spice, but next time I'll cut out the italian seasoning all together--I didn't like the blend of rosemary and some of the other flavours with the dish. I added 1/4 cup of feta in with the tomato mixture as well. On top, I sprinkled a bit more of each cheese, then topped with bread crumbs and baked (uncovered) for 25 minutes. Aside from the italian seasoning, it came out really well. I will make it again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States