Four-Cheese Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I made this recipe, but with some much-needed modifications. Most important to note is DO NOT ADD SALT TO THE ROUX!! It will make the cheese curdle! Any and every time I have ever made homemade mac and cheese, if I added even a drop of salt to the sauce, it has curdled and then doesn't adhere to the noodles, and this recipe was no exception. If you want to add salt, add it when you serve it. In place of the salt, I added some paprika to the roux, and upped the pepper a lot, and that gave it some kick. I also found the amount of sauce to noodles was too much. I would recommend cutting it to 2 or 2 1/2 cups. I also baked mine for approximately 20 mins at 400, and I think it helped thicken the sauce and give it more flavor. The flavor of the sauce was really unique, but the cooking method needs some improvement. My verdict: quite tasty, but the cooking process definitely needs some modifying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I've made this recipe twice now and it's come out very nicely. The only change I make is I don't boil the flour and butter roux two minutes...or even one. I do boil once the milk is added. Good eating! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valinutah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Oh, this is deeeelicious! I opted out the salt, but HAD to add it at the end. I don't like swiss, blue, or parmesan cheese so I used 1 1/2 cup mexican cheese, 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, and 1 1/2 cup Italian bend cheese. My mozzarella went bad last minute. I am totally making this for thanksgiving and I think even the pickiest will consider this a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homesweetcookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I really liked this recipe, and I would make it again. I loved the flavor--the amount of blue cheese was just right. I also thought that the recipe seemed like it had too much cheese, but that too was just right. I substituted part of the milk with soy milk to make it less rich. The only reason I didn't rate it higher is that it seemed like it needed an additional spice or something--just something to give it a bit more kick, because it has a mellow flavor. I will try experimenting with that when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I had never made homemade macaroni and cheese before that wasn't baked, so I was a bit worried that I'd mess it up somehow. I pretty much followed the recipe, except just used cheddar cheese that I had on hand, and it turned out great! Very cheesy and creamy, and had a great taste! I think that if it's too bland for you, just add a few spices and test it until it's right. I simply used salt and pepper, and I was happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I guess my idea of mac and cheese is differnt. I followed the recipe, which has flaws, and it turned out just so-so. With a name like Four Chese Macaroni I expected a cheesier taste. It was not at all creamy and the taste was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is Delicious..rich and creamy and o so yummy! I followed almondjoy2807's advice and didnt add salt to my roux...i never knew that curdled the cheese but always wondered why my previous mac & cheese recipe's always seemed curdled..now i know why..I instead added a bit of smoked paprika to the roux and a little extra pepper and it turned out fabulous..the smokey flavor is something our family loves and i use smoked paprika in alot of recipes that dont call for it.....i did top mine with a bit of shredded cheddar and baked it for about 20-25 mins til it was all gooey and bubbly! it was very good!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I MADE THIS RECIPE FOR ALL OF MY COLLEGE FRIENDS AND THEY LOVED IT. IT HAS A VERY UNIQUE TASTE THAT MAKES IT UNFORGETABLE!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
really good, really simple. we tried it with what we had on hand, which was sharp cheddar, muenster, and parmesan. mmm, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
The recipe was good, we changed things a little, using Extra old cheddar along with mozzarella, parmesan and blue cheese. We used less blue than it called for and are glad we did as it would have been overpowering otherwise. We added bacon which added a nice flavour and next time plan to try adding some fried onions. Also followed the recommendation that the salt be omitted from the roux. It was very creamy and quite good. We baked it at the end too because we like crunchy bits :) We will use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evvie's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States