Four-Cheese Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Love this recipe, but I substituted Feta Cheese for Blue Cheese and I put it in the oven to heat through and brown. More kid friendly for large groups. It is a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I added a bit of dehydrated onions to the sauce while it was cooking, instead of using fresh, since I was out. I also used more cheese instead of the topping. This was great! I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
The recipe was good, we changed things a little, using Extra old cheddar along with mozzarella, parmesan and blue cheese. We used less blue than it called for and are glad we did as it would have been overpowering otherwise. We added bacon which added a nice flavour and next time plan to try adding some fried onions. Also followed the recommendation that the salt be omitted from the roux. It was very creamy and quite good. We baked it at the end too because we like crunchy bits :) We will use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evvie's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Bravo for simple and easy to make. But I can't say I was thrilled with the taste and consistency. I love bleu cheese so I was excited by this recipe. Unfortunately, things didn't combine for that really great gourmet mac n cheese taste I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I did not care for this! Reminded me of my mother's 40s era recipe which I never liked. My son, husband, grandson didn't like it. A recipe that eliminates the roux and just uses a cheese sauce would be far preferable and more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
It was better reheated... but very good the first time too -- I did find that the cheese-y sauce "curdled" but that's the only way my husband has ever had it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole McGovern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I guess my idea of mac and cheese is differnt. I followed the recipe, which has flaws, and it turned out just so-so. With a name like Four Chese Macaroni I expected a cheesier taste. It was not at all creamy and the taste was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Oh, this is deeeelicious! I opted out the salt, but HAD to add it at the end. I don't like swiss, blue, or parmesan cheese so I used 1 1/2 cup mexican cheese, 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, and 1 1/2 cup Italian bend cheese. My mozzarella went bad last minute. I am totally making this for thanksgiving and I think even the pickiest will consider this a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homesweetcookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I like this recipe because it contains real cheese and because it is cooked entirely on the stovetop with just one messy pot. However, I did run into a few small snags. There was not enough macaroni for the cheese sauce. I would add about 25-50% more macaroni. I also added the milk before boiling because I wasn't sure how to get the butter and flour mixture to boil. The recipe produces a large quantity, but it worked out nicely because I froze the extra in cupcake tins to thaw out for my kids for a quick dinner sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is Delicious..rich and creamy and o so yummy! I followed almondjoy2807's advice and didnt add salt to my roux...i never knew that curdled the cheese but always wondered why my previous mac & cheese recipe's always seemed curdled..now i know why..I instead added a bit of smoked paprika to the roux and a little extra pepper and it turned out fabulous..the smokey flavor is something our family loves and i use smoked paprika in alot of recipes that dont call for it.....i did top mine with a bit of shredded cheddar and baked it for about 20-25 mins til it was all gooey and bubbly! it was very good!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States