Four-Cheese Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I MADE THIS RECIPE FOR ALL OF MY COLLEGE FRIENDS AND THEY LOVED IT. IT HAS A VERY UNIQUE TASTE THAT MAKES IT UNFORGETABLE!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I've made this recipe twice now and it's come out very nicely. The only change I make is I don't boil the flour and butter roux two minutes...or even one. I do boil once the milk is added. Good eating! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valinutah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I had never made homemade macaroni and cheese before that wasn't baked, so I was a bit worried that I'd mess it up somehow. I pretty much followed the recipe, except just used cheddar cheese that I had on hand, and it turned out great! Very cheesy and creamy, and had a great taste! I think that if it's too bland for you, just add a few spices and test it until it's right. I simply used salt and pepper, and I was happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is Delicious..rich and creamy and o so yummy! I followed almondjoy2807's advice and didnt add salt to my roux...i never knew that curdled the cheese but always wondered why my previous mac & cheese recipe's always seemed curdled..now i know why..I instead added a bit of smoked paprika to the roux and a little extra pepper and it turned out fabulous..the smokey flavor is something our family loves and i use smoked paprika in alot of recipes that dont call for it.....i did top mine with a bit of shredded cheddar and baked it for about 20-25 mins til it was all gooey and bubbly! it was very good!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Oh, this is deeeelicious! I opted out the salt, but HAD to add it at the end. I don't like swiss, blue, or parmesan cheese so I used 1 1/2 cup mexican cheese, 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, and 1 1/2 cup Italian bend cheese. My mozzarella went bad last minute. I am totally making this for thanksgiving and I think even the pickiest will consider this a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homesweetcookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Love this recipe, but I substituted Feta Cheese for Blue Cheese and I put it in the oven to heat through and brown. More kid friendly for large groups. It is a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
really good, really simple. we tried it with what we had on hand, which was sharp cheddar, muenster, and parmesan. mmm, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
It was better reheated... but very good the first time too -- I did find that the cheese-y sauce "curdled" but that's the only way my husband has ever had it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole McGovern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
The recipe was good, we changed things a little, using Extra old cheddar along with mozzarella, parmesan and blue cheese. We used less blue than it called for and are glad we did as it would have been overpowering otherwise. We added bacon which added a nice flavour and next time plan to try adding some fried onions. Also followed the recommendation that the salt be omitted from the roux. It was very creamy and quite good. We baked it at the end too because we like crunchy bits :) We will use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evvie's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I added a bit of dehydrated onions to the sauce while it was cooking, instead of using fresh, since I was out. I also used more cheese instead of the topping. This was great! I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States