Four Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
great taste...thought 1 cup of sugar was way too much so I only used half. Still came out great. The leftovers , I added quinoa and it made a filling lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Good recipe with a few changes. Cut the sugar way down to a tablespoon with 1/2 cup white vinegar and a splash of balsamic. Used a good olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Couldn't find pimentos, so I subbed in chopped red pepper. Added a teaspoon of dried marjoram. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Awesome salad! I agree with other reviewers that it's okay to mix and match the veggies according to one's tastes. I used this recipe as a jumping-off point for my own version, with green beans, wax beans, garbanzo beans, dark red kidney beans, and sliced beets. For the dressing, I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup (I used "Sugar in the Raw"), and paired that with 1/2 cup white vinegar and 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar (for an extra kick). I added minced garlic and fresh cracked black pepper before giving everything a toss. This salad gets better with time, so if you can make it a couple hours before you want to serve it, the veggies will marinate in the dressing and it will taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I thought it was to sweet. If I ever make again will not use as much sugar as recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This no-fuss recipe is a delightful dish to have "on hand". Keeps well for several days -- a sweet-tart tang that lightens any meal. Interesting textures add nice dimension. Great as a side dish with salad for lunch or with a main course for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Excellent. Took to family gathering and even those who don't like "bean salad" asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I added Jicama to this for an added crunch. Lasts very well for days in frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
A nice change from the three bean salad I always make. The marinade is refreshing and tastey. The lima beans add a touch to this salad. Keeps well in refrigerator - will make again. Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2000
This was very easy and really good. My family enjoyed it. I did replace the lima beans with wax beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
I made this Bean Salad for our end of the year staff party - I love recipes that can be made in advance, kept in the fridge overnight, and transported easily to the party. In fact, sitting overnight really helped the flavours to blend. What a GREAT salad!! Leslie Webb Lynn Lake, Manitoba, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States