Four-Bean Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I decided to use Goya "pink beans" instead of Kidney beans (I dont care for Kidney) 1 can of butter beans, 1 can of pinto (had them in the pantry) and only had a big bag of frozen whole green beans. I also only had the 28 oz can of baked beans so used that. I fried up a pound of bacon and crumbled it and threw that in. Also decided to double the sauce because I added an extra can of beans and used twice as much green beans. I added hot dogs that I cut in thirds (added the hot dogs the last hour in crock pot). I cut back just a little on the brown sugar and vinegar. This is so good !!!!!!! I served this with chabatta bread to "sop" up the sauce. Thank You for a great recipe !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
A mixed review: The whole idea of four types of beans flavored with bacon is attractive, but this dish was just OK. My family liked it, though, but I'm not sure we will see this often on the table. The 1/2 cup of vinegar seemed like an awful lot compared to the total volume of beans, so I used 1/4 cup and it still had a distinct twang of vinegar. Based on other reviews about it being too sweet, I used 1/4 c brown sugar and 1/4 c molasses, and I found the sweetness level just right. The recipe needs a little more liquid (maybe not drain 1 or 2 cans of beans?). It's not a BAD recipe, it's just not a GREAT recipe. Probably can be made great with some custom tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Way too sweet!! I would definately take the brown sugar down to half of what the recipe calls for. I like the idea behind the recipe. I will try to make this again with half the sugar and half the vinegar. I added polish sausage to the medley to make it a complete meal which would of worked great, if not for the sweetness. Also, I used Bushes Original Baked Beans which I don't think worked well with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I have fixed this recipe several times. I think it is a bit vinegary, so I add 1/4 cup pineapple juice and 1/4 cup of vinegar. I have even added half a can of pineapple tidbits for a luau. It was delicous. I also have doubled this recipe in my 5 quart crockpot and it all fits well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
had 2 pork chops I had to cook so I cut them up in place of the bacon, this is a woderful recipe I did add some honey, just a few tablespoons full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I may consider remaking this recipe, halving the amount of brown sugar. This dish was too sickeningly sweet for our family and masked most other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Delicious! I have made it as written and it was very good, however I now make it with 1/2 the amount of vinegar as a personal preference. I find that using a full pound of bacon chunks from the ends and pieces packages is a very nice touch and a little better since it is easier to trim the fat completely off of the larger chunks. My husband likes spicy so every once in a while when we make it I add some chipotle sauce. It is very tasty and fully deserving of 5 stars as written but it also allows for some added spices for personal preference. A very hearty side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaAZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I made this dish for a family gathering and it was a huge hit! I used what I had, 2 cans baked beans, 1 can pinto, one of kidney. It was a perfect combination, and followed the recipe exactly as written otherwise. The timing for the crockpot is right - I like that I can make ahead and serve when we are ready to eat. This is one our new 'favorites'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I can't tell you how exactly this tasted because I didn't try it since I don't care for a lot that was in it but the recipe was folloed exactly and everyone that did try it loved it. They kept sneaking back in the kitchen for another bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This recipe worked well. As Golffox I added a pack of hot dogs last. I sliced in half and cut in 3rds. I fried them before I put them in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States