Fountain-Style Vanilla Malt Shake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
To answer the previous post "BECKWILL", I couldn't find malted milk powder at the stores either. I found it on AMAZON, made by Carnation, and buy them 3 at a time. The powdered malt milk also makes grest fluffy pancakes, when mixed in your reg. batter. This shake turned out a little runny, so I don't add much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Can anyone tell me WHERE on earth I can purchase powdered malt? I have searched for YEARS and I have never been able to find it. I would love to try out this recipe but I'm missing a main ingredient. Anyone who can help me out? I live in the Phila. suburbs. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckwil
Home Town: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I made this exactly minus the carbonated water. Turned out great! Keep in mind I made this without the water and it is not thick at all, so if you add the water I can't imagine how liquidy this would be. It is more of a vanilla malt drink than a shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
it was ok. i had to add some more ice cream to thicken it up a little. but that could be because i used 1% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was a big hit with the whole family! We were able to add flavors to fit each taste, some liked the vanilla, others prefer chocolate or strawberry, very good recipe to play with. The only issue I had was that it was too thin, Add another scoop or 2 of ice cream and it thickens up perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarkston, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
It tastes just ok and it is not thick at all. Would not do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I adore Vanilla-malt shakes!!! I had no idea that seltzer water was used. I LOVED this one. Mine was a bit runny also, but more ice cream made it perfect. GREAT recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
The mixture turned out too thin. Maybe it's because I used 1% milk? Even after adding more ice cream, it was still way too thin. The flavor seemed very average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
i didn't think this was good, but my little sister did. it tasted like flavored milk to me and i thought it was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I've been looking for a good way to make a malt milkshake and this was it. I blended everything except the soda water, and then stirred it in at the end so it stayed fizzy. This was perfect, with just the right amount of malt and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Apple Honey Shake

Find out how to make a refreshing blended juice drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States