Fortune Cookies So Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2004
This recipie is AWESOME!!!! I loved it and the instructions on how to fold the cookies are PERFECT!!!!! The only problem is it is a little dificult to get the cookies to not be pancakey, yet not too crispy one the edges!!! These cookies even taste good Pancakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I used powdered egg whites and margarine, the heated pan really helped, but I thinned it with a spoon back on the pan and towards the end of the batch added a tad of water to thin, you can only do 4 at a time, but it was a blast, after making 100 I had hot hands but the partygoers LOVED them!!!(usig the cup lip to make the horseshoe was easier)Would do it again for the next party with the birthday wishes inside, THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I really enjoyed these. I found that if you heated the pan before putting the cookies on they spread into circles easier. I only put two cookies in the oven at a time. Also, as a preference, I doubled the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I loved this recipe! My 10 year old was able to make these for her friends. The only thing I did different was to increase the water to 4 T. Making them less pancakey.Using the back of a spoon to spread them out before cooking gives them more of an even consistency. Bake a little longer till about a forth to a third is golden brown. Fold them in half, lightly grab the top and use an edge of a glass or bowl to get the horseshoe shape then put them in a muffin pan to cool. We made two on a pan and rotated the pans. It sounds complex but once you get the motion in order they are so easy. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
my daughter and I just made these. We compared this recipe with another one she found on another site. the only difference was water was increased to 3 tablespoons and butter to 6 tablespoons. I thought these would be so difficult but that was not the case. She wanted to make them for a friend who is leaving town. They turned out so nice!!! We only did 4 at a time to ensure time to fold before they started to crack. We let them get good and brown on the edges, folded then placed in a mini-muffin tin to hold the shape. Just wonderful and tasted so much better than store bought. Thanks Babycakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Thank You so much! I've made these for many parties and have gotten requests to make more. They are so easy... even for a 14 year old on the first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
These cookies were sooo good! My little brother ate all of them! They were a bit cakey, so next time i'll add more water to htin out the butter. I think these would be great if half of the cookie was dipped in chocolate....yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I made these for asian day in my social studies class. on my first try they were soft , not crunchy but everyone still loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I have to disagree wih the little write-up. These are BETTER than any fortune cookies I have ever had from a Chinese restaurant! I did have to add a little more water to the recipe. Our higher altitude might have been the reason for that. My son took these to school as Valentine's - they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
WOW THESE ARE AWESOME! they tasted EXACTLY like good fortune cookies! I used these for a friend's birthday party and they were absolutely a hit! I'm going to use them for valentines day, as well, and put red food coloring in them, to make them pinkish. I will definitely use this again! oh, by the way, i took a batch out too soon, and they were a bit chewy...but my friends said those were even better, and they asked me to make them chewy for valentines day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States