Fortune Cookies So Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Ok everyone, these are easy with some tips. Put the oven to 350, not 375. Grease cookie sheets really, really well. I added more water to thin the dough and added no vanilla extract, all almond and about 1 tsp. I used a old metal cookie sheet, not an airbake. Spread dough out THIN, bake 4 minutes, flip cookies over bake 30 seconds more. Work really quick, and these look just like the real things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Tasted good but didn't work. I took them out when the edges browned, but they were spongy like a pancake and didn't fold properly :( They weren't easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I practiced this recipe a couple times because I wanted to get it right. The first couple of times I adjusted and added more water to thin it out like others suggested and I had more trouble than before. This morning the kitchen was under a spell i guess because it was easy! I used the recipe scaled for 24 cookies and only added an extra t of water and they were just right! I can't believe they aren't even chewy in the center! So Delicious! Just be careful when folding them, buttering your fingers helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I made mine to thick, only 2 that were actually pleasant looking. The batter tasted good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Looking for Perfection

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
READ THE REVIEWS! THEY GIVE YOU TIPS! I found something out that might help some of you. I also was having problems while folding it and it breaking. What I learned is: Yes, the texture should be like a pancake (so I did have to add more water to mine because it was thick) BUT in addition, once it's put on the cookie sheet, it should NOT be like a pancake but more like a crepe. You've reeeally gotta thin it out with a spoon. Too thick and it'll break. You know you've got it thin enough when you pick it up and it feels like you're flinging a piece of rubber around. If it feels like a thin cookie---too thick still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This is my first time making fortune cookies, and they came out AMAZING. They were delicious and fun to make. One of the things I loved is that I had all they ingredients in the hous already. I'm definitely going to make them many times more! The only think I didn't like was the taste was a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dover, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I made these cookies for a project in school and we found it best to use the batter warm (room temp.) and do three at a time. wait until the edges are golden/crisp then w/ two people have one remove cookie and the other fold the cookie then put them in small muffin tins to bake more until golden all over then cool (still in the muffin tin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I hate false advertising- but this recipe is telling the truth! 'So easy-' and so good! They were nice and sweet, even though they didn't have the lemon flavor of your classic restaurant cookie. But they were fun to make, though I strongly remcommend having a lot of elbow room and fast moving fingers. If you are planning on popping fortunes in these, wait a few seconds to insert the paper, otherwise it will stick to the cookie and your fotune will be 'You will eat a piece of paper and choke.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Although the cookies tasted good and look like fortune cookies they do not taste like a fortune cookie. I think that 3/4 sugar is too much, and if there is going to be that much sugar there should be able 1-1/2 cups of flour. The amount of sugar really made the cookies taste like a sugar cookie. Also, for personal reference I added some more almond extract I thought it tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
They tasted good, but they took an hour to make. Too much investment for poor payoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States