Fortune Cookies So Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I thought of making these for my two kids' Valentine's day card distributions at school and I thought it would be so cute to put personal fortunes inside. I just made these tonight (over 70 of them so I had to more than double the recipe). To be honest, I was a bit nervous these might not turn out well...but, guess what, they turned out great! Maybe because I was doing so many at once I got the hang of it after folding about two of them. What helped me was when I was at Walmart, during Valentine's season, they had a "fortune making kit" that sold for $9 (to make 10 cookies) and I just thought that was so expensive, I decided to copy their pictures that showed how to fold them (which helped tremendously, by the way). The parchment paper is the way to go because I used a spatula to remove them and they came right off. When they were nice and golden brown on the edges, what I did was take only one out at a time so I can concentrate on the shape. So, using the "Walmart" fortune cookie making kit method, after I placed the fortune inside, I folded it in half, used a rim of a mug to place the middle of the cookie on the rim and then folded the outer two edges down, which helped shape the cookies to their natural fortune cookie shape, just like the ones you find at a Chinese restaurant! It ended up being so easy to make. I had fun making them but they were definitely labor intensive and the fact that I was making over 70, it took me several hours to finish the entire batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momofthr33
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I added just one more TBSP of water and they came out GREAT!! The whole family LOVED them. Saving this recipe to make again :) thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Plan on making two batches -- the first one to get the hang of it and the second one to share with others. I would not call this an easy recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
ummm, I don't think fortune cookies should have butter in them... it makes them too chewy and the fortunes just absorb the grease so they're all translucent. It was an easy recipe and they tasted good...but I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This recipe did not work at all for me. I tried several times and was so excited to use it, but it really did not work. Disappointed.... After reading everyone else's comments, I have to agree, the batter needs a lot of thinning, and it would really have helped to have two people working on it instead of one. The cookies need to be immediately used on removing from oven, and crepe-thin. Too labor intensive for what I was intending, which was to make a whole bunch of them in one evening. The cookies themselves, while failures as fortune cookies, were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
My kids and I made fortune cookies for valentines day at school. Since we were making so many we had a chance to try multiple recipes, 6 to be exact. One was from Martha Stewart, one from Paula Dean, others from different online recipe sites and this recipe. We saved one cookie from each recipe and had a fun family taste test. The results......This cookie is the WINNER!! Best tasting, easiest to make, not to thick, JUST RIGHT! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
DUBSTEPPPPPPPP. im making these for my school project. Bhargav loves Harrison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
OMG!OMG! First of all the recipe does not tell you how thin to make the 3 inch circles. I made the frist batch and they turned into chips. Second batch was too thick. The batter was not teh consistency of pancake batter so I had to add more water to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Tried many different ways to bake/fold these with no good cookies. Too cake like. Imagine trying to fold a sugar cookie. The under baked ones crumbled and the over baked ones broke while the cookies baked exactly according to the directions folded like paper then broke. Too greasy so the papers became illegible after absorbing the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States