Fortune Cookies So Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I have made this three times, and it's always such a crowd-pleaser! I get so much compliments! I use 2x the water called for, otherwise the batter was too thick. I like to dip the fortune cookies in melted chocholate candy (Wilton's) and add sprinkles. It's great for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
In my opinion you should just make them into cookies. I found the batter very sticky. When the time came to fold them, it just broke in half. but the taster of the cookie was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Do not use parchment paper for these, grease a cookie sheet or your cookies might end up chewy like mine. I also doubled the amount of water to thin out the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These taste great! I'm sure it was my fault that I couldn't get them to fold right but they were Very good! I will continue to attempt to master the folding with this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
these were so fun to make! we had them a little too thin at first, but the suggestion for the warm pan proved to work well for us. We only let the outsides brown a little, no problems with cracking once we got going. One tip from us... we didn't have almond extract, so opted for orange extract and it was delicious! We transported them in mini muffin tins so they wouldn't get crushed. Thanks for the fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I also had to thin the batter a little more...about 2 tbsp...make them very thin...much easier to work with. I had trouble with shaping at the beginning. Just bake 2 at a time until you get it. Take one cookie out at time, lay it on the counter, put your fortune in, fold it in half away from you and pull the two ends together towards you while using your thumbs to push the middle of the cookie up. I messed up about 6 cookies before I got it, but don't give up. Once you get it, its easy and fun! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
First, these taste nothing like the ones you get in a chinese restaurant, they are so much better! I did have to thin the batter a little more than the recipe called for, and I was making them a little bit too thick. The whole process is trial and error, but the end result is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I made over 100 of these cookies... Lot's of trial and error, but came up with the perfect one. Some suggestions are, water the batter down to a thin pancake like mixture. Don't use anything but a metal pan. You don't need to grease the pan, there's already enough butter in the batter. Use about one tbl. spoon of batter for each cookie. This will give you a little larger than "average" fortune cookie. When spreading the batter onto the pan, you want to barely cover it. Even when you think it's too thin a layer, spread it out more. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I love the way they taste, but I've got to be doing something wrong about shaping them. Obviously to shape them before they cool and harden you have to take them out of the oven and shape them right away. Youch!!! I've burned my finger tips. If thats the way it is then I'm not making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Not that easy to make. Just could not get them to turn out. I tried a lot of different times and nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Faye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hudson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Byron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States