Fortune Cookies So Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Fun, but you have to work quick. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
these are not for the faint of heart... i found them to be anything but "easy." the recipe as is results in a batter that is too thick and will not permit shaping. i added A LOT more water to get the consistency of thin pancake batter. they are very tricky to get just right, although the taste is MUCH better than a normal fortune cookie... however that's assuming that you are able to get them to look like a fortune cookie! there's a video on YouTube that shows you how to fold them and they actually have a completely different recipe, i might try that next time. good luck! you'll need it. OVERALL SCORE> taste 4 stars, presentation 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I loved this recipe so much. I didnt have almond extract or butter so i just used !/2 cup oil but the cookies still came out perfect and delicious. I cant wait to make them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Calling all fortune cookie makers ... I tried this recipe and although the taste was right-on I had trouble getting the cookies crisp enough. In addition my fortunes stuck to the cookie. The only thing I changed was adding water to get the pancake consistency. Too much water maybe? Anyone else have this issue?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
A bit tricky to get the right consistency and folding done just right but very tasty and a good recipe; definitely recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
It's ridiculous how easy these are! You want to wait until the edges are really starting to golden before removing them, be prepared to get slightly burnt fingers! I added a little more water to thin, the thinner you can make these the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganeloise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Good Flavour But the batter wouldn't form properly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I agree that these take some practice, but it's well worth it. I ended up making two batches and the first was an edible practice round;) Some notes I took away: * I baked these on an ungreased (non stick) stovetop griddle/grill surface and had no problems with sticking. Actually, I discarded the cookie that I made on a greased surface because it really accelerated the browning process and they weren't as pretty. * The first batch, exactly as directed, was delicious but tasted a little grainy. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 c the second time and didn't have the same problem--they were still perfectly sweet. When I make these again I may use an ultrafine sugar instead. * I took the previous reviews too far on batch #1 and got preoccupied with adding extra water. I think I used a bit too much, and this may have caused the grainy texture as well. My "giving" batch was about the consistency of tacky glue and spread and baked beautifully. Just made these as gift tags for holiday gifts and I'm thrilled. Far less complicated than I anticipated and I will try them again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I have made this three times, and it's always such a crowd-pleaser! I get so much compliments! I use 2x the water called for, otherwise the batter was too thick. I like to dip the fortune cookies in melted chocholate candy (Wilton's) and add sprinkles. It's great for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
In my opinion you should just make them into cookies. I found the batter very sticky. When the time came to fold them, it just broke in half. but the taster of the cookie was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States