Fortune Cookies So Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
What a disaster! I will not be making these again. I must have done something wrong but I will not give it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I had to add more water too. And my son can't have nuts so I did lemon extract. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
was super easy and they taste so yummy!!! my kids loved them!! the only thing i needed to do was add about 1/4 cup more of water, but then they where perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemomstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhl, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Was a good idea, came out ok. Tasted good but were not crunchy. I tried cooking longer but could not fold. Were fun though, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I used a muffin top pan for perfectly round fortune cookies, they looked very proessional and everyone thought they were store bought, or made professionaly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious! They were the hit of the party. They were for a poker party and so I made the fortunes contain words related to poker. The cookies were more delicious than typical fortune cookies. They were like sugar cookies. It was not easy to fold while hot and I could only bake a few at a time in order to get to all of them before they cooled too much to fold and form. I recruited my husband to help put the fortunes in and fold them and we had fun with it as well as coming up with the fortunes. Some of the fortunes kind of melted and got stuck in the cookie, so next time I will try not to fold them when they are too hot, but not really sure how to prevent that. Definitely grease the cookie sheets well and only bake a few at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This came out perfectly. It did take a few tries to get the folding right but the Youtube video out there showing how to do it really helped. I added 4 additional TBSP of water to get the right consistancy and cooked them for 5 min. I was only able to do 3 at a time. The only downside is, because of the greasing of the cookie sheet, the fortunes get all greasy. I'm going to try using a silpat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
It's probably not the recipe's fault, but out of the 36 this was supposed to make, I only managed to shape 4 (using about half of the batter). You've got to work REALLY fast. Also, grease like crazy!!! The main reason why mine failed was because it stuck to the sheet (I used tinfoil with butter, so I'm not sure how it would be different with parchment paper or whatever). They are REALLY hot coming out of the oven, so be careful! I ended up using a spatula to hold the edge down when I folded it. Good luck, but be sure that you know how hard and frustrating this recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
batter way way to thick. had to at least double the water in the recipe then smoothed them out with a wet flat spatula. they tasted fabulous but still too thick to fold well. still were adorable and looked like fortune cookies. my kids loved them and got tons of oohs and ahhs at school international food day. will use my french tuille cookie recipe that is similar and rolls like a pencil to see if I can figure out the water/thinness questions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
It's easier to fold these over the edge of a cup. I sues a shallow one then let them cool inside the cup. I have made these several times. With a little practice they turn out great. I have always had a little trouble with the fortunes sticking to the cookie. I have wrapped the fortunes in waxed paper before, but would rather not have to do this. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States