Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I absolutely love this recipe, and I have even posted another Fortune Cookie recipe on this site, as it was always my favorite, until now! This recipe is just like the Fortune Cookies you get in a Chinese restaurant. The thing I like most about this recipe in comparison to my other recipe, is that my other one calls for butter and yes, it does enhance the taste and yes, I will continue to use this recipe when I mold the cookies into other shapes (logs, bowls...) because the butter makes such a tasty cookie, BUT I have now, officially adopted THIS recipe when I want to put in the fortunes, because these don't put the grease spots on my paper fortune like the recipe with butter. And no matter how I tried, I could never get around those butter/grease marks. The key to this recipe is to make sure you make each circle VERY thin before baking to prevent a soft pancake-like center. Follow the rest of the directions closely and you will have successful fortune cookies for your special event!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
474 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYCAKES291

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I used some of the suggestions from prior reviewers. These cookies actually come out better than expected. I used 2Tbsp of sugar instead of the 1/4 cup. I also added 2 Tbsp of butter to the mix and 1/8 tsp almond extract. I sprayed the sheet between each use. Make the cookies on the backside of the pan, it's easier to get them off quickly. I folded them in half on a cutting board, bent them on the rim of a mug and then let them cool in the muffin pan as suggested. Be careful if you are going to try to crisp the cookies by reheating them (250 degrees, 10 minutes). When they warm up again, they begin to unfold. Perhaps leaving the cookies in the muffin pan would help keep their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I strongly recommend adding 2 tablespoons of butter to the batter or they will stick to the cookie sheet. Also, we had to thin it out a bit witha tiny bit of water. I added both vanilla and almond extact, and reduced the sugar to 2 T a batch. I made over 100 of these for a wedding. We had best results by making no more than 4 at a time and cooling in a muffin tin. Also, the cookies were just not crunchy enough for my liking. So, after they were formed, I stuck them in a 250 degree oven for about 10 minutes to get them drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
After fumbling with two other recipes this week with more ingredients and more complicated procedure and a product I dumped in the trash bin, I was "fortunate" to find this excellent and simple recipe. I'm so glad I didn't give up. I followed it as written and am very pleased with the result. At one point I was struggling to remove the cookies from the sheets so I tried one reviewer's idea about using parchment. I had to remove the cookies from the parchment and bake one more minute directly on the pan but this worked fine. I found it easier though just to omit the parchment and be sure to butter the sheet generously, spread batter evenly so edges were not too thin, and not to let them brown too much. As long as you slide them off the sheet immediately you have plenty of time to do the rest. Be prepared to do two batches. Just as you get the hang of it with the first batch you'll be hooked and will want to keep the fun going! I'm thrilled to have found this because my parents invited us out for a Chinese dinner tomorrow and with some help from the restaurant we plan to use these to announce that our first child is on the way. (Yes, these are good enough to serve as "the real thing".) I hope my comments help. Thank you Aleta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I think that these cookies taste terrific. Now, how they look is another thing! I got a little bit better at folding them as I practiced, but not by much! I wanted to do a test run of these cookies prior to Valentine's Day next week-I thought it would be fun to make these for my sons' classes with little V-Day messages inside of the cookies. I also added the butter to the batter-make sure it is melted-the first batch I used only softened butter and the batter was entirely too thick-the cookies ended up extremely "cakey". Also, grease the heck out of those cookie sheets! These cookies cool so quickly when they are removed from the oven-you must move quickly-even after making about 12 of these I could still only do 2 in the oven at a time-so this is definitely a lenghty process-but as in anything homemade-worth it. I am definitely going to keep at attempting to master this-how cool to make your own fortune cookies. Confucius say: Try this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
These cookies taste wonderful! I added 2T water to the mix and they made perfect thin circles. I followed the high altitude suggestion and baked at 375 for 7 minutes. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and removed with a well sprayed spatula. I did not turn the cookies over before folding the paper in and found that this helped make them look more authentic; this also seemed to make the cookies more crunchy. They are awesome and my kids keep asking for more! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This recipie is terrible. My first batch came out like overly sweetened pancakes. I recommend reducing the sugar to 2 tablespoons, whipping the egg whites just until slightly foamy but not solid at all, and spreading the batter so thin with the back of a spoon that you can see the pan through it. This will help you create authentic fortune cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by poofietomato
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
These tasted wonderful! It took a couple of "test batches" before I got the hang of it. 400 degrees is way to hot for my oven! I baked them for about 10 minutes at 325 degrees, and they turned out beautiful. I used my fingers to spread the batter to ensure (almost) perfect circles. Make sure the circles are THIN before you put them in the oven or they won't turn crunchy! Works great with Whole Wheat flour too! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
Had to make changes...Combine 1/4 cup flour, 3 Tbls. sugar, and 1 pinch salt; set aside. Whisk together 1 egg white, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and 1/2 tsp. almond extract. Whisk in 2 Tbls. melted butter. Sift dry mixture into egg mixture and stir to mix. Continue as per original recipe BUT keep in mind: your first 2-4 are going to look aweful. You'll probably need to double the recipe to get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
I know it is cheating, but if you use butter flavour instead of vanilla, they will taste like the buttery recipe ones, and still not have grease spots! (I used 1/2 vanilla extract and 1/2 butter flavour and they were awesome.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States