Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2000
This recipie is terrific! In my first few tries, the cookies stuck to the sheet, and by the time I pried them off, they were too cool, and broke upon folding. It's not very kid friendly because it involves handling hot cookies, but my son loves to eat them! A few hints: Add 1-2 teaspoons of melted butter to the batter and spray the cookie sheet with cooking spray. This makes it easier to remove from the sheet. You can do up to 6 small cookies on a sheet if they're small and if you have a someone to help you fold! After you fold a cookie, put them in the wells of a metal muffin tin, to help them keep their shape. That way you don't need to hold them until they cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
great for sleep overs for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
We couldn't get the cookies to look like restaurant cookies. They were very tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
When I was mixing the batter, I'd already formed my opinion that these would be terrible!!!! However, they did turn out okay, with some adjustments. I quadrupled the recipe, which may have something to do with it. I needed 24 cookies. I followed the recipe, but it never mentioned anything about using the egg yolks, so I didn't. Were they supposed to go into the cookies? The batter was very thick, and there was no way it would pour. I added skim milk by the tablespoon until it was thin enough to run. After that, everything went okay. They wouldn't stay folded around the measuring cup, and I found that if I just sat them on the counter in the folded position they stayed closed. The taste was wonderful! They taste and look just like the restaurant kind, after trial and error!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
We have rewritten this recipe to make it easier to folow. We replaced the ingredient egg with egg white as it should have been and altered the instructions for simplicity and clarity based on suggestions from reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
I had a hard time finding the right consistency for the batter. In fact, I still have not found the right consistency. Shaping the cookies was easy and they looked like restaurant style cookies (only bigger), however, they were far too sweet. This is a recipe that requires a lot of practice, and I do not have the patience for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
These did not turn out well at all! The cookies baked up too thick, and when I tried to thin them down they stuck to the pan. I could not fold them, they kept cracking. After making the batter twice and ruining it , I finally gave up! What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
I found this recipe hard to work with because there wasn't enough liquid. I had to add some water just so they would work. Otherwise pretty good once you get the hang of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
Impressive. They look and taste just like the real thing, and are good for presantation. I like to give out big (HUGE) Fortune cookies for gifts, filled with something nice... PS--if the cookie cools before you can get it off the pan, put it back into the oven for a few minutes. It softens that way. Happy Baking! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
At least they came out tasting like fortune cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States