Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
way too thick/sweet, came out like muffin tops, maybe with some adjustments it would've worked, but I didn't have the time to redo & just put my fortunes in a cabbage shaped bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Hit and miss with a grade 12 class. A couple of groups did perfectly while others were bad. A few suggestions: 1. Make in a large measuring cup, this makes it easier to pour the butter onto the pan. 2. Bake 3 on one cookie sheet, then 3 on aother and 3 on a third. Stagger the times that you put them into the oven so that you have a couple of minutes between them. This way, you do not have a few that get too cold while you shape the first couple. If you fold the egg yolk back into the batter at the end, the colour will be more rich and golden - then nothing goes to waste either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
i give these 3 1/2 stars, they are really hard to form but the taste is excellent! It almost tastes like a hard crepe, although I added about half the sugar the recipe called for and it was sweet enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
too sweet but neat to make your own fortune cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DESNA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Followed directions exactly. Spray pan, wipe before spreading batter. Have a helper put the fortune down for you to save time. I did two cookies at a time. If they get too brown, they'll crack, but too white and it'll be chewy. Use a mini-muffin tin to hold the ends in place til cool. Beautiful! Best when eaten right away. They got really chewy - never really got crunchy like the ones from restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This was my first time. I took other reviewer's advice and reduced the sugar a little. I quatrupled the recipe. Came out pretty good. Since I kept switching baking sheets, as one cooked I started another, I could see a difference in quality. I sprayed the baking sheet with butter spray.My darker pan cooked them faster. My lighter pan a bit slower. I got to the point that I just kept them in the shape of a cookie, I had so many. Also the batter should be thin and when I poured the batter on the sheet I did it in a circular motion without touching the pan, this eliminated the need to tilt the pan to form a circle. All in all the kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I have never made fortune cookies before. Due to the fact that the recipe said to "tilt the sheet to move the batter into round shapes," I was expecting a "batter" similar to pancake batter. What I got was a paste. I used a large egg. Would an extra-large egg work better? I think it might be beneficial here if the recipe would state what size egg to use, since the egg white and the vanilla are the only liquids used. I whipped my egg white to frothy, as stated in the recipe, but when I added the quarter cup each of flour and sugar, the whole mixture formed a paste. I added a tiny bit of water, but I wasn't sure what exact consisteny I was going for. Needless to say, I had to manually spread my paste on the baking sheet. My cookies came out too thick and would not fold properly. They had nice flavor, but they were very unattractive. I'll try them again another day with an extra-large egg white, or maybe even a whole egg. If I get better results, I'll bump up my rating. For those who had a problem with the cookies sticking, I use a baking spray -- the kind with the flour in it -- and nothing EVER sticks. Although, adding butter might help the consistency. Reading the reviews, it seems like most of the people that had success with this either reduced the amount of sugar or increaded the amount of liqid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very easy and tastes great! I let my kids write the fortunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I thought the flavor was ok but getting the little buggers to form into the right shape was much harder than i anticipated. Maybe i deserve the three stars, not the recipe. still - good for chinese new year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
i thought this was a really easy recipe for them. It was pretty good. The first time i made it made one giant one(it was going to hold a gift card for by friends birthday gift, thought it would be a fun way of wraping it)it worked but kinda chewy. I think it was due to the size though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a_hurst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States