Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I loved this recipe! its so easy, and so much fun to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akabebi
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
It took me 4 tries bit I finally conquered this cookie!! I wanted a giant version and used a 14x2 round cake pan. What I learned: 400 oven is too hot - lower to 350. VERY generously butter the pan. Use SUPERFINE sugar. Do not OVERBEAT the egg whites - makes the batter too thick. Just loosen them up till a bit frothy. For my cookie, I used 3 egg whites, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 tsp each of vanilla and almond exract, which I beat together. For the perfect color, I added 5 drops yellow and 1 drop red food coloring. I also added 1 tsp cornstarch to the flour and salt. Baked 6 mins and came right off the pan. After I formed the cookie, I turned off the oven and put the cookie back in with the door open to crisp. SUCCESS at last!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Wonderful! These cookies are so much tastier than restaurant Chinese ones. I am 14 and these are so easy to make. Its okay to use 1/4 tsp of vanilla if you over measure by mistake. My only recommendation is: ADD A TABLESPOON OF WATER!! It is completely necessary. If you don't at first, you will quickly. Be quick about folding. These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gyoza Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
We tried the recipe and followed the directions exactly. The batter was a bit thick which made the cookies thick. When we folded the cookies they all cracked and were crumbly. Taste was only fair not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
quick, easy, what more could you want in a fortune cookie recipe? I used a spoon to spread the batter out which worked well. You don't need to make it too thin to get a crispy finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
yup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Followed the recipe as written and, after many test cookies, created one perfect one. I had not made fortine cookies before, so I had to get used to the technique. I tried to use parchment paper, but found that it was best to butter the pan and spread the batter on it. I can't imagine doing a large number of these without a helper! They sure taste better than store bought fortune cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
i like this recipe and will use it in the future. However, i found them a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
When I tried these for the first time, mine came out all cakey in the middle, and way too sweet, only the edges were good. Next time, I might have to follow the reviewers comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
not sure if it's an altitude thing but my cookies stuck to the baking sheet. After reading reviews of others having this issue, I added melted butter to my batter. Turned out great after that. Good taste, easy to put together, just very hot on the finger tips, ended up using paper towels to grab the cookie ends with. I baked 2 cookies at a time and seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States