Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I had to make this recipe twice because the first time the cookies had more of a dough like texture than a cracker (crunchy) one. I used a little less flour and added a tsp of butter and I got the perfect fortune cookie. These taste sweet like a sugar cookie but be careful and make sure you make them thin enough or it just won't work out for you. Pretty fun once you get the hang of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mischa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson Bay, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I followed the other directions (adding 2tsp water and spraying the spatula with non-stick spray) and I really had no problems. The batter was runny enough, butnot too runny. I tried 3 at first but made them WAY to big; be ready it spreads in the oven! I was also really slow making them so the edges did crack, but if this happens fold them in half again and it looks like a nice flower :) - I would say go for it. My roommates all LOVED the cookie taste. It is a lot like a sugar cookie, but if you don't like sugar cookies then something is wrong! I'm at sea level and baked them as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHYUMMERS!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Turned out really well! I sprayed parchment paper with oil and made them paper thin, literally - it's ok if you can see through them a little. I drew 3" circles on the opposite side of the parchment so that I could make evenly round. I followed the ingredients exactly and found it made a dozen perfectly... if you can only make 6 like I read on a review, then maybe they're not thin enough. DEFINATELY use cotton gloves - or you'll find yourself using your sleeve. Your first batch should be a trial batch - Although I only tried doing 3 at a time, I could probably handle making 4-5 at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
These cookies were such a pain to make. DEFINITELY add 2T. of water to this recipe, and use the back of a spoon to thinly spread out the batter. Without the water, this recipe was too thick and too sweet. We made 20 cookies total, and each batch turned out differently than the previous one. I had an easier time making a black forest cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Tastewise I'd say these were a 5! It was pretty remarkable how much they resembled storebought, but man were they difficult to work with. First I made then too thin, then I didn't fold them fast enough, (etc). In the end after I doubled the recipe, I only got 6 cookies done with fortunes in them. Fun but hard!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
The batter was too thick for the cookies to be thin enough to fold after they were baked. I added a little water to the second batch and they worked quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
These cookies taste wonderful! I added 2T water to the mix and they made perfect thin circles. I followed the high altitude suggestion and baked at 375 for 7 minutes. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and removed with a well sprayed spatula. I did not turn the cookies over before folding the paper in and found that this helped make them look more authentic; this also seemed to make the cookies more crunchy. They are awesome and my kids keep asking for more! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I didn't add any water to the batter. It's thick, but I just spread it into a circle using a rubber spatula. I also had more luck with using parchment paper (sprayed with a little bit of noon-stick spray) on top of the cookie sheet. It was a little tricky folding them...mine weren't pretty shapes, but they held the pieces of paper ok. The hardest part was thinking of something original to write as a fortune!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
You have got to be kidding. This recipe does not work AT ALL. Too little liquid, and if you add water/oil it works, but they come out CHEWY. Who ever heard of a chewy fortune cookie???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
these looked and tasted very good. it was a little hard to get the little papers out of some of the cookies, but everybody liked them and thought they were cute. don't think we'll be doing this any time soon though because the process was very tedious and time consuming since we could only do about 3 at a time. you really have to work fast with these otherwise the cookie will crack as you're forming it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States