Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I made these to take to an Asian themed dinner party...so I wouldn't show up empty handed. They were a big hit. Its cool that you get to write your own fortunes (maybe even dirty ones). They taste pretty good to (and I don't even like the taste of fortune cookies). The high altitude recommendation worked great and you should add a little bit of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I also used the suggestions of adding water and butter (I did 1 T of each). I also greased the pan a few times in between. Everyone liked how they tasted, though they didn't all turn out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
These weren't what I was hoping for. They were pretty chewy for me. I found a much better recipe online at http://chinesefood.about.com/od/diningout/r/fortunecookie.htm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very fast and easy to make. Tastes just like the ones you get with take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
i did this for my gcse food technolgy exam and i took me 5 attepts to get it right in the practise before i had something sutibul for the photo but for the actual thing it was perfect what i would say is hold them in a tea towel when they are firming or they just ping out of shape (attempt 3 and 4) and make sure you get the right amount of batter on the sheet or they just come up as big soft biscuits very yummy but not worthy of a gcse (attemt 1 and 2)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This seems like the easiest recipe I've found, and the reviews are great - I haven't tried it yet, that's why it only gets 4 stars. I have a question though - as far as the actual fortunes go, do you have any advice as to what kind of Ink to use? (Pen, Marker, Printed) and paper (can you use colored paper?) I know these questions seem silly, but I don't want to end up with ink all over the actual cookie. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
These were a hit, took a lot of the review suggestions and added butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I had to make this recipe twice because the first time the cookies had more of a dough like texture than a cracker (crunchy) one. I used a little less flour and added a tsp of butter and I got the perfect fortune cookie. These taste sweet like a sugar cookie but be careful and make sure you make them thin enough or it just won't work out for you. Pretty fun once you get the hang of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mischa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson Bay, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I followed the other directions (adding 2tsp water and spraying the spatula with non-stick spray) and I really had no problems. The batter was runny enough, butnot too runny. I tried 3 at first but made them WAY to big; be ready it spreads in the oven! I was also really slow making them so the edges did crack, but if this happens fold them in half again and it looks like a nice flower :) - I would say go for it. My roommates all LOVED the cookie taste. It is a lot like a sugar cookie, but if you don't like sugar cookies then something is wrong! I'm at sea level and baked them as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHYUMMERS!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Turned out really well! I sprayed parchment paper with oil and made them paper thin, literally - it's ok if you can see through them a little. I drew 3" circles on the opposite side of the parchment so that I could make evenly round. I followed the ingredients exactly and found it made a dozen perfectly... if you can only make 6 like I read on a review, then maybe they're not thin enough. DEFINATELY use cotton gloves - or you'll find yourself using your sleeve. Your first batch should be a trial batch - Although I only tried doing 3 at a time, I could probably handle making 4-5 at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States