Forgotten Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Someone please help me out. I followed the recipe and the directions exactly and in the morning the cookies were still soft. Plus they stuck to the foil paper. Maybe I should have greased it? Should I have kept the cookies in the turned on oven for a few minutes before I turned the oven off? What I did in the morning is turn the oven back on for a few minutes on low and the cookies were ready soon after that. They came out delicious but I wish I didn't have to do that extra step. What did I do wrong? Also, I think chocolate chips are extra, I just added chopped almonds and a little bit of sugar, and the taste was just right. Thank you for the recipe. Please give me more direction for I want to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Great recipe, easy to follow. I was raised on it without the chocolate chips or nuts...just as a meringue. For the reviewer who had to turn her oven back on...is your oven gas? If so, that's your problem. Electric oven coils retain heat for awhile after you've turned them off, while gas ovens start cooling almost immediately. If it is a gas oven, I'd preheat the oven, then when you put the cookies in, drop the temp to the lowest possible...they'll be ready in less than a few hours, dependant on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
They came out literally, just like the picture! I doubled the recipe in my 5 quart kitchen aid mixer just fine. I was baking them for a breast cancer awareness fundraiser so I used red food coloring in the final mixing stages to make the meringue pink before folding in the mini semi-sweet chips and chopped peanuts and they took to a nice pink color. They also didn't spread when baking so I could pack the parchment lined cookies sheets closely with cookies and bake 2 batches simultaneously! The hardest part of the recipe is not opening the oven before time is up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I have made a version of this for years. For the person who it did not work out right for her is my suggestion...First I grease and flour the cookie sheet(they will come right off@) When you put them in the oven count to 30 then turn off the oven and let stand over night. Sometime I get sidetracked cleaning something and they end up in there for a few minutes. Add food coloring red and green for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
When making the meringue, I recommend adding about 1/8 teaspoon of cream of tartar and adding in the sugar gradually until it dissolves in the egg white mixture. Instead of using chocolate chips, I put a Hershey's kiss chocolate in the center of each one. These are light and fluffy cookies that everyone will like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I've made these cookies before. I like to experiment with meringue cookies; I've gotten away with a dried cranberry and almond meringue before! I also alwas add food coloring, just to make them look more appetizing. (For example, red and green for Christmas). I also use colors when I make one batch with nuts and one without. One this about this cookie, though; I've had several people say "Mine didn't come out that good!" The BIGGEST keys are the parts of this recipe that mention ROOM TEMPERATURE and STIFF PEAKS. Too many people make it cold and go, like, "Oh! This is close enough." Or make soft peaks and say the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
This is one of my favorite holiday recipies. However, I make my cookies with milk chocolate chips and pecans. Anytime I make these cookies I get multiple requests for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I made this and took them to a party and everyone raved about them! They were pretty easy to make also - just be sure to mix longer than you probably think you should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I love this recipe and have been using it for years. I'm a chocoholic, so I always omit the nuts and add an additional 3/4 cups of chocolate chips! I use milk chocolate, though, because I like the taste of milk chocolate better than semi-sweet. As always, use quality chocolate when making a recipe like this because it really comes through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Waste of calories! Followed instructions and they came out like ...thanks for the disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States