Forgotten Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Denisse2090
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
These literally became forgotten cookies! Made these after making some oatmeal cookies. Had a bit of a problem beating the egg whites, but I added some fresh lime juice and that helped the peaks forms. Scooped them into the cookie tin using an ice cream scoop (BIG No-NO as I later found out). Left the oven on at 350 while I did dishes (5 mins) and then turned it off and forgot about it until the next night after work (oops lol). When I took them out they did not change size from the way I scooped it, half had cracked and the other half were beautiful. (See Pic) Tried some and the top was heaven, very much like a meringue but the center was chewy. Also VERY VERY SWEET. These were good but in retrospect I would do the following changes: -Less sugar, probably 1/2 -No chocolate chips -Small scoops into cookie sheet, maybe teaspoon to make bite size pcs -Add lime juice while beating eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denisse2090

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I've made these my entire life! We use butterscotch chips & pecans instead. Simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Was there something wrong with the ingredient amounts? Too runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I really liked this cookie as a change and more healthier. (If there is such a thing as a healthier cookie) My husband loved them but the kids didn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I am not super experienced in the kitchen and these came out perfectly the first time. Careful not to overcook these - the cookies were ready to be eaten in 1.5 hours in my oven after following directions, so perhaps the first time making these, check your oven every hour or so to ensure you don't accidentally burn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Good cookies! I added a 1/2 t of almond extract for additional flavor. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Mom always made these at Christmas, but no matter what I did with her recipe, they always came out sticky on the bottom, gooey in the middle, and I had to reheat them a bit, leading to them being browned. I followed this recipe exactly, it's a tiny bit different than Mom's in the sugar ratio, and they came out PERFECTLY! Make sure no yolk gets in the whites, and beat the heck out of the whites- it takes a long time, even with a hand mixer. Add the sugar VERY slowly...good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
The meringue did not form stiff peaks. Probably because there was no cream of tartar or vinegar in the recipe. I've made cookies similiear to these before and that recipe had vinegar in it. These were still tasty the way the turned out but I will continue to look for other recipe I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsymonds

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I've made these cookies before. I like to experiment with meringue cookies; I've gotten away with a dried cranberry and almond meringue before! I also alwas add food coloring, just to make them look more appetizing. (For example, red and green for Christmas). I also use colors when I make one batch with nuts and one without. One this about this cookie, though; I've had several people say "Mine didn't come out that good!" The BIGGEST keys are the parts of this recipe that mention ROOM TEMPERATURE and STIFF PEAKS. Too many people make it cold and go, like, "Oh! This is close enough." Or make soft peaks and say the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I tried making this with broken semi-sweet chocolate bits and almond nuts. Every mouth was fabulous. However, my cookies did not have a feet / base. It was soft at the bottom. Some quick research on the web told me it could be that my cookies were too big and therefore the bottom did not dry out. I preheated to 180 celsius again, turned off the oven, then popped the cookies back in for another 2 hours. They turned out fine except a few of the top cracked a little but still in one piece. I'd try again making smaller cookies, spooning the batter with a teaspoon instead of tablespoon this time round. I didn't manage to get the brown on my cookies like those in the pictures but crispy nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States