Forgotten Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Was there something wrong with the ingredient amounts? Too runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I really liked this cookie as a change and more healthier. (If there is such a thing as a healthier cookie) My husband loved them but the kids didn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I am not super experienced in the kitchen and these came out perfectly the first time. Careful not to overcook these - the cookies were ready to be eaten in 1.5 hours in my oven after following directions, so perhaps the first time making these, check your oven every hour or so to ensure you don't accidentally burn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Good cookies! I added a 1/2 t of almond extract for additional flavor. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Mom always made these at Christmas, but no matter what I did with her recipe, they always came out sticky on the bottom, gooey in the middle, and I had to reheat them a bit, leading to them being browned. I followed this recipe exactly, it's a tiny bit different than Mom's in the sugar ratio, and they came out PERFECTLY! Make sure no yolk gets in the whites, and beat the heck out of the whites- it takes a long time, even with a hand mixer. Add the sugar VERY slowly...good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
The meringue did not form stiff peaks. Probably because there was no cream of tartar or vinegar in the recipe. I've made cookies similiear to these before and that recipe had vinegar in it. These were still tasty the way the turned out but I will continue to look for other recipe I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsymonds

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I've made these cookies before. I like to experiment with meringue cookies; I've gotten away with a dried cranberry and almond meringue before! I also alwas add food coloring, just to make them look more appetizing. (For example, red and green for Christmas). I also use colors when I make one batch with nuts and one without. One this about this cookie, though; I've had several people say "Mine didn't come out that good!" The BIGGEST keys are the parts of this recipe that mention ROOM TEMPERATURE and STIFF PEAKS. Too many people make it cold and go, like, "Oh! This is close enough." Or make soft peaks and say the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I tried making this with broken semi-sweet chocolate bits and almond nuts. Every mouth was fabulous. However, my cookies did not have a feet / base. It was soft at the bottom. Some quick research on the web told me it could be that my cookies were too big and therefore the bottom did not dry out. I preheated to 180 celsius again, turned off the oven, then popped the cookies back in for another 2 hours. They turned out fine except a few of the top cracked a little but still in one piece. I'd try again making smaller cookies, spooning the batter with a teaspoon instead of tablespoon this time round. I didn't manage to get the brown on my cookies like those in the pictures but crispy nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was a suprise hit with my family. Everyone doubted the cookies based on the ingredients but once they tasted them they loved them. I was happy to come across the recipe since I had them as a child but had forgotten how good they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I've made this. It is very good! I love it! What I did though was just use egg whites, sugar, crushed peppermint sticks, and chopped nuts =) tastes great just like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alienmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States