Forgotten Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I was reading some of the reviews complaining about running cookies. You have to beat the egg whites until they have a stiff peak ( a stiff peak is when you beat egg whites until peaks stand up straight when the beaters are lifted from the mixer bowl).Then fold in the nuts and chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmella
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I have made these since I was a little girl in my grandmothers kitchen with an old coal stove. The cream of tartar is important and helps resolve the issue that another reviewer had with the cookies being soft. The oven needs to be turned off immediately after putting the cookie sheets in. It's also important not to open the oven to take a peek. I always pop these in the oven right before bedtime and leave a post it note so I don't forget about them all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Wonderful! I'm always torn about how to rate a recipe after I've made changes to it without making the recipe as posted. That said, I added a pinch of cream of tartar as I was concerned about the stability of the meringue and omitted the chocolate chips. I'd never heard of this method of baking meringues. It's a wonderful finale for an afternoon of baking. I did find, however, that I could have easily doubled the recipe and have space in my oven (albeit on 2 shelves) with plenty of space for air flow around the pans. Thank you for this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Here's a new version of this wonderful little cookie. I used 1/2 semisweet chocolate chips and 1/2 green mint chips. Also added a few drops of green food color to the meringue. Perfect addition of color for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I have been making these for twenty years in some pretty strange locations and with differing equipment, and they've always turned out perfect left in the oven all night on foil. If they are not cooked through, troubleshoot the following: 1) Is the oven on the correct temperature? Buy an oven thermometer to check. 2) Are you peeking? You can't open the oven door before they are done--the oven will lose too much heat. 3) Are you beating your eggs to stiff peaks, or are they still on the soft side? 4) Are you folding in your vanilla by hand? Using a beater to add liquid ingredients will deflate merengue. Hope they turn out next try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
my grandma made these cookies when I was a kid. she called them, "Bake while you sleep cookies." anyway, I tried to make them several times and always failed. I found out that it works best if you use eggs that are room temp. and add 1/8 tsp. cream of tartar to the egg whites about 1/2 way into mixing them. I would continue with adding the sugar just like this recipe says and the rest of the recipe. another difference is I used chopped walnuts instead of peanuts, but I feel they would turn out just as good. I would use parchment paper and spray it with non-stick spray. -lee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I am not much on meringue, but these things just simply take the cake. Or should I say cookie? (Sorry, bad pun I know, but it had to be done.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I just adore these! They are so cool- light as air, kind of hard on the outside and melt-in-your-mouth on the inside. I followed the recipe exactly, only I did add about 1/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar. You should start with room temperature egg whites...I got mine in the bowl, and let them sit for about 30 minutes. Cold whites means more mixing time. Add the sugar veeerrrrryyyy slowly, and you really must mix and mix and mix- it takes quite some time. Do not stop mixing to take a break- keep that motion going nonstop. Patience is key- if you rush these, you will NOT get the results you want! I have a gas oven and had no problems- just make sure you give it plenty of time to preheat, and then don't be tempted to peek- that lets the heat escape. These came out perfect for me, and I am delighted! I am going to play around with the add-ins (cranberry and almond maybe?), and will definitely color some from Christmas! Fantastic recipe DOGIRL- thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denisse2090
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
These literally became forgotten cookies! Made these after making some oatmeal cookies. Had a bit of a problem beating the egg whites, but I added some fresh lime juice and that helped the peaks forms. Scooped them into the cookie tin using an ice cream scoop (BIG No-NO as I later found out). Left the oven on at 350 while I did dishes (5 mins) and then turned it off and forgot about it until the next night after work (oops lol). When I took them out they did not change size from the way I scooped it, half had cracked and the other half were beautiful. (See Pic) Tried some and the top was heaven, very much like a meringue but the center was chewy. Also VERY VERY SWEET. These were good but in retrospect I would do the following changes: -Less sugar, probably 1/2 -No chocolate chips -Small scoops into cookie sheet, maybe teaspoon to make bite size pcs -Add lime juice while beating eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denisse2090

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I've made these my entire life! We use butterscotch chips & pecans instead. Simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States