Forgotten Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
after dolloping half of the batter, I stirred in a few milk chocolate chips (Ghirardelli are gluten-free) and then put the rest on the cookie sheet. Left them in the oven 4 minutes before turning it off, and left the cookies in there about 15 hours. They were too soft and chewy for me, so put them back in at 200 for 10 minutes or so. That worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I made these just last night. Was a little nervous, as I've never done these types of cookies before, but they turned out beautifully. Crispy outside, almost marshmallow inside. A few minor things - I beat in the vanilla, just like the sugar. I used mini-chips. Made for easy folding, and placement on the cookie sheet (they're very close set cookies). I'm not sure I would have had the same ease with regular chips, so I'm gunna go out on a limb, and reccommend you use mini-chips. I also used an air-bake cookie sheet - for those that don't know about them their purpose is to, more or less, get a consistent browning all around a cookie. But to accomplish this cookies bake a little longer on this type of cookie sheet by about 2 to 5 minutes. So .. I set the timer for 3 minutes, not 2, and then turned the oven off. And, thankfully, the browning was consistent, and not overdone. :) Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I've been making this recipe for over 20 years. I recently learning you can keep the oven on at 150 degrees and bake for 2 hours to hurry up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Tasty but needed more time in the morning to brown on top and still be chewy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great, easy recipe! I let my stand mixer do all the work and in the morning had a delicious treat waiting for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Wicked easy! I can't wait until the morning when they'll be ready! :) It's a great way to use up my extra egg whites from another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Just like mom and I used to make as a kid. One suggestion, we always used mini chocolate chips - they seem to almost float in these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
These were great! The only change I made was beating in the vanilla, not folding in with the chocolate chips. I left them in the oven overnight, and they came out perfect in the morning. A little like marshmallow in the middle. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A BEATER--DO NOT GO PAST THIS RECIPE! I made these cookies ENTIRELY by hand with a whisk. It's a bit of work but they're worth it! The trick is to ensure the whites are room temperature, the bowl is clean (and preferably metal, copper is best), and a drop of vinegar or cream of tartar will help the whites' reaction immensely. Good luck! I made these with finely crushed candy cane as per Homermc's direction. Probably only added about a quarter cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Yummy! Randomly made these last night....excellent taste, so easy. I left mine with the oven on about 4 minutes before turning it off, and they came out just a touch crispy and nice and soft in the middle. The chocolate chips were a nice little surprise, tucked away in the middle. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States