Forfar Bridies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
used ground beef and puff pastry from the store. They looked very pretty and fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Chace
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I substituted johnsonville sausage. While it was not authentic it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Chace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I grew up in Scotland and in my part of the country we had carrots and peas as part of the filling. Other than that these are perfect. Please use the lamb and not beef if you want the authentic product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Tried these a couple of times with beef & pork. I did take others suggestion & added some veggie & even tried puff pastry & crescent roll instead of pie crust. Nothing seemed to help & ws disappointed. I do have other recipes from this site that do a "pot pie" type of entree better. I think it just lacked the flavor I'm used to in our cooking, rather blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
DI_ANE...these are my favorites on the whole website...thank you so much for sharing them! I fell in love with bridies after going to a Celtic festival. (They use puff pastry there...yum!) I couldn't stand waiting for a whole year to have them again, so I tried your recipe. So happy I did. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Heller
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Used frozen puff pastry dough, worked amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Rice Bittner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Honestly, no one in my family liked this very much. We all thought a whole onion (even a small one) was too much for this dish. But I'm willing to accept that that much onion may be an acquired taste, which is why I'm giving the recipe a 3 and not a 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I buy refrigerated pie crust and have made these several times. My husband is from a small town in Scotland and says these are close to what he had back at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmyb
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I used hamburger instead of lamb as it is hard to find in my area- and I rolled out Rhodes frozen roll dough because I needed to use it, I will definetly make these again, they are similar to Runzas, probably because of my substitutions. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made these but added more W sauce....made them for a Burns party and never saw them fly so fast of a plate before. Hubby loved them with brown sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Cornish Pasty

See how to make a classic meat pie filled with skirt steak, onions, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States