Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
The cooking directions gave us a perfect prime rib. We had a 7 pounder. My son and I like ours medium, so we ate the "ends" and my husband and friend liked theirs medium rare - so they ate from the middle section. We did vary from the prep directions. We sprinkled salt and pepper and then seared the roast in a skillet. Then we made small cuts in the roast and placed garlic gloves in the cuts. We made a rub of olive oil, minced garlic, kosher salt, cracked peppercorns and thyme. It made a really great crust. Looking forward to leftovers today! In reference to how much time this recipe keeps the oven occupied, we ended up making 6 baked potatoes in the toaster oven. Worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
The roast turned out as described, but was terribly hard to carve. I think if I make it again, I'll have it boned. Does this affect the cooking method?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I used the time/temperature/door shut per recipe. Oven temperature was indicated by an auxiliary thermometer as 365 F. (Oven set point was 380). I guess I didn't know what to expect as the roast internals were decidedly red which was much too rare for my guests. The outer layer of the meat was delicious! I had to pan fry the rest to make it palatable for my guests. (Still very tasty) My big mistake was not to use a meat thermometer, which if there is a next time, I will do. I'm not sure if I have an oven problem or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
The taste was amazing!! However, I used a 7+ pound roast. I cooked it for 1 hr 40 minutes at 375, let it rest for 2.5 hours then back in for 30 and it was basically still rare except the edges, so it went back in for another 30 minitrs and then was perfect. Had I used a 5 lb roast, I feel the instructions would have been perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
All I can say is WOW !! My family loved loved loved this and so did I. It was one of the easiest yet most flavorful roasts I have ever made. I served gargonzola sauce.Together Amazing. I did use See Salt, Garlic Pepper in my rub and then pour my Tuscan Olive Oil on top and let set for the hour. Again. Amazing and I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
In my 27 years of marriage, I think I've made standing rib roast twice with such disappointing results, I never wanted to risk it again. But this year my husband was having nostalgic feelings of the Christmas roast his mom used to make - how good the house smelled, the seasoning on his favorite end cut, and I have to admit, my childhood had the same memories. So we tried it again with 6.5 pound "choice" bone-in cut from Costco (not the really pricey "prime" that they had too, although I was tempted based on past experiences). I used Weber Gourmet Burger seasoning and followed Foolproof cooking schedule to a tee despite the skepticism of my mom, his dad and even hubby. The house smelled wonderful for hours, the second cooking was about 35 minutes and gave hubby his medium end cut and the rest of us a medium rare middle and despite the original skepticism, by the time we cut it open, we agreed that with Foolproof we had brought back the Christmas dinners like Mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Followed exactly, it was perfect and just as reviewers described!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made this yesterday for Christmas dinner. It was excellent! Raves from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
My family RAVED about this! Being VERY discriminating steak eaters (Morton's and Ruth's Chris), I've never done prime rib at home in 33 years of cooking on my own. Adult sons voted prime rib when I gave them the choice, after I saw this post. My family LOVED it! Both sons said, 'Dad would have loved this meal!' He passed away in Sept.':(... I had a 3 lb BONELESS roast. Added cup of beef broth to pan and kept all else the same. My resting time was shortened by 45 min because of such a small roast. Also, only cooked for 35 min for a juicy pink center, medium layer surrounding that, and capped off by the crispy mm mm so good outer seasoned well done layer. I did use a small rack, and did NOT cover. The broth and drippings made the perfect au jus, and served with horseradish and A1. I made the green bean 'casserole' in a large skillet on the stove, and scalloped cheddar potatoes in the electric skillet. Threw the already baked rolls in the oven while the roast was finishing out of the oven for final 10 minutes. Oh, MAN, was this savory and satisfying! I'll make this every time there is a PRIME rib roast on sale, and my family already requested it for next year! Thank you, SALSIEPIE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerodramamama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burgettstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was the first prime rib roast I've ever made but it turned out absolutely wonderful. My husband kept teasing me about leaving it in the oven so long, but the meat was just the right temp. I did put about 2 cups water in the bottom of the pan but it just dried up. And the smell in the house....!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States