Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Great Recipe BUT you need to use a meat thermometer AND cooking to an internal temperature of 140 F will result in an overcooked rib roast! I cooked our 20lb rib roast following the recipe but removed when internal temp was 125 F, rested for 20 minutes (temp rose to 139 F), carved and served. Roast was very good but medium. Next time I will remove at 115 F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I followed this recipe to the letter and my 8lb roast came out perfect! It made our Christmas dinner outstanding - everyone raved about the roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Awesome, I added a little more to the rub as folows, 1T lemon pepper seasoning, 1 T paprika, 1 1/2 tsp garlic salt, 1tsp dried Rosemary, crushed and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. I followed the instructions as far as cooking and it turned out perfect. Better than restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristina Porschet
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was the best recipe. And IT WORKS! Everyone loved it. I made it just like they said. My boss asked how I was cooking mine. I told him this recipe and his was a hit too. Bon Appétit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Porschet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
It's was perfect, easy and Delish! Thank you!! My first pot roast a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Best roast ever! Hardest part was trying not to open the oven door to peek during the 3 hr time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I have been using this recipe for years! It always works. BUT, use the thermometer to check meat--130 degrees is med-rare, 145 degrees is perfect--still some pink! (Adjust cooking/resting time for a smaller roast.) Use a rack and roast UNCOVERED, fat side UP. It works in convection oven--but use regular oven setting if you can. Add a good quality canned beef broth for more au jus and mix at the end. I use LOTS more seasoning than this recipe. Any steak or prime rib seasoning works. This year I did the largest roast ever--10.6 lb boneless prime rib--big bucks! My whole gang loved it, even the grandchildren who had seconds. Better than most steak restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
OMG. Amazing, delicious, melt in your mouth awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHOOPTINK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Rib roast for Christmas dinner has been a tradition in our house for the last 20 years. When I received this recipe via e-mail from All Recipes I was intrigued. It is a method of preparing a rib roast that I had heard of but have never tried. My daughter was a little concerned that I was going to attempt this “new” method when we were having 15 people for Christmas dinner. I must say that was the best decision I made when planning this meal. The roasts (I had 2 x 7 lb roasts) came out perfect. Everyone loved it! I will be preparing Christmas dinner this way from now on! The only thing I might change is to reduce the cooking time, the roast was a little more well-done than my family likes it. On the other hand it was a perfect medium for my guest who prefer it a little more well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
It was so easy and perfectly cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States